Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I made it with carrots only and another time with butternut squash.. The difference is not too noticeable and carrots are easier to cook... I like to add cumin, curry, red pepper spice, and olive oil... it goes well with a dollop of plain yogurt when you serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Loved this recipe. I added greek yogurt as a garnish and chopped parsley. Very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanina C. Briffa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I added I bit too much ginger. I doubled the recipe so I added coconut oil (about 3 tablespoons) while on lower temp. It tasted fantastic. This is a soup I will make again with the coconut oil again as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I used a full butternut squash and powdered garlic because we were out of fresh. It turned our great! I agree that there's plenty of flavor and stock is not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
added leaks and thyme and swapped out water for veggie broth and light coconut milk for cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Delicious! My changes: I used yellow squash because my store was out of butternut and I used a full one instead of half. I also used half an onion cause my onion was really large. Those were my only changes and it came out amazing! I can't wait to try it with butternut instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Mammoth Lakes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I have made this a couple of times and I love it. It's so simple and delicious. I have not made many tweaks to the recipe because it's wonderful on it's own, but I use a little bit of skim or 1/2% milk rather than heavy cream, and it still adds the creaminess I like without the fat. I'm tempted to add some butter, but it's so much healthier without and it's wonderful as is. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This was excellent! I used 2 packets of chicken bouillon (for 2 of the 4 cups of water), and didn't have butternut squash so used 3 small yellow and orange peppers and cooked those with the onions. I also added 1/4 teaspoon cumin and a heaping 1/2 teaspoon turmeric and 4 cloves of crushed garlic instead of 3. Very flavorful!!! I topped it off with chopped cilantro and a dollop of greek yogurt- no cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I found that there was too much ginger in it ; it should probably be measured in tablespoons rather than inches. My ginger knob was probably much thicker than the regular pieces. The soup had a lovely flavour ! I added home made chicken broth instead of water & a can of coconut milk instead of heavy cream. My guests enjoyed it & I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Excellent soup. Made the soup as written, and the family loved it. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States