Carrot Walnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I was seeking a recipe for a carrot cake that did not contain oil so when I saw this recipe, it appealed to me. I used a fresh carrot from the garden that was so largeand juicy, it was ideal. The cake froze well and proved to be a great winner with every person at the party making complimentary comments on the moisture level and the quality of the cream cheese topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This is a delicious cake. It's very dense and moist. The icing is TO DIE FOR! I left the raisins out because of others' tastes, but I'm sure they would be delicious as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I made an apple cake recently that was too oily, so I liked the fact that this recipe uses butter instead of oil. However, I found the batter extremely dry and hard to stir. Mixing in the grated carrots was like kneading dough for bread. I had to use four times the amount of juice called for and it was still very hard to stir. I suppose it could have been because I used store-bought grated carrots, which are probably a little drier than freshly-grated carrots. The end result wasn't too bad, but I think I will try an oil-based recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Excellent recipe! I used the juice of one fresh lemon instead of the orange juice. I did not have any problem at all with the batter being too thick. Be sure to thoroughly cream the butter and the sugars together -- this should take as much as 5 or 10 minutes using an electric beater. (The color will change visibly to a much lighter shade than it was when you started creaming.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I followed the recipie as written and I actualy had success. My husband really enjoyed this carrot cake. It was my first attempt for this cake. I am pleased with the way it turned out. I made it in a spring form pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I love the fact that it uses raisins and walnuts, plus when I make it the cake is so moist and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I found this cake way too dense for my tastes. I agree w/ a previous poster that it was very hard to stir and came out almost like a carrot "bread". I will not be making this again. It wasn't horrible, but it wasn't the best carrot cake either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Very disappointed compared to other carrot cake recipe that I could not find. This cake can be dry. I could tell by looking at the batter it was too dry so I added 1/2 can of crushed pineapple which helped. The icing recipe is a good one and especially since I added the other 1/2 of the can of pineapple. There are better recipes out there, I suggest you choose one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Wonderful! we love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I have not made this so I can't really comment on it too much but as a couple of other posters have said about it being dry I can see why if you're not using oil. The oil is where the moistness comes from. Carrot cakes are so supposed to be moist, not dry. I had to give it a rating or I couldn't post so that's why I chose the rating that I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States