Carrot Walnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I was seeking a recipe for a carrot cake that did not contain oil so when I saw this recipe, it appealed to me. I used a fresh carrot from the garden that was so largeand juicy, it was ideal. The cake froze well and proved to be a great winner with every person at the party making complimentary comments on the moisture level and the quality of the cream cheese topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I love the fact that it uses raisins and walnuts, plus when I make it the cake is so moist and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I followed the recipie as written and I actualy had success. My husband really enjoyed this carrot cake. It was my first attempt for this cake. I am pleased with the way it turned out. I made it in a spring form pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Excellent recipe! I used the juice of one fresh lemon instead of the orange juice. I did not have any problem at all with the batter being too thick. Be sure to thoroughly cream the butter and the sugars together -- this should take as much as 5 or 10 minutes using an electric beater. (The color will change visibly to a much lighter shade than it was when you started creaming.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This is a delicious cake. It's very dense and moist. The icing is TO DIE FOR! I left the raisins out because of others' tastes, but I'm sure they would be delicious as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Baked yesterday, it's delicious and moist. Thank you, girl for sharing the recipe!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
My family loved this recipe. It was very dense and moist but that is what made this recipe different and better then anyone I have ever used. And I too, agree, the icing is to die for. What I did do that could have made the icing amazing is, I whipped it for about 15 to 20 minutes. I have never had any icing that compared to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Wonderful! we love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Delicious! Make sure all ingredients are at room temp otherwise batter will be thick. I used low fat cream cheese, just as yummy. Check at 50 minutes so you don't over bake. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I made an apple cake recently that was too oily, so I liked the fact that this recipe uses butter instead of oil. However, I found the batter extremely dry and hard to stir. Mixing in the grated carrots was like kneading dough for bread. I had to use four times the amount of juice called for and it was still very hard to stir. I suppose it could have been because I used store-bought grated carrots, which are probably a little drier than freshly-grated carrots. The end result wasn't too bad, but I think I will try an oil-based recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States