Carrot Walnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
My family loved this recipe. It was very dense and moist but that is what made this recipe different and better then anyone I have ever used. And I too, agree, the icing is to die for. What I did do that could have made the icing amazing is, I whipped it for about 15 to 20 minutes. I have never had any icing that compared to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Delicious! Make sure all ingredients are at room temp otherwise batter will be thick. I used low fat cream cheese, just as yummy. Check at 50 minutes so you don't over bake. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Baked yesterday, it's delicious and moist. Thank you, girl for sharing the recipe!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I have not made this so I can't really comment on it too much but as a couple of other posters have said about it being dry I can see why if you're not using oil. The oil is where the moistness comes from. Carrot cakes are so supposed to be moist, not dry. I had to give it a rating or I couldn't post so that's why I chose the rating that I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Wonderful! we love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Very disappointed compared to other carrot cake recipe that I could not find. This cake can be dry. I could tell by looking at the batter it was too dry so I added 1/2 can of crushed pineapple which helped. The icing recipe is a good one and especially since I added the other 1/2 of the can of pineapple. There are better recipes out there, I suggest you choose one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Excellent recipe! I used the juice of one fresh lemon instead of the orange juice. I did not have any problem at all with the batter being too thick. Be sure to thoroughly cream the butter and the sugars together -- this should take as much as 5 or 10 minutes using an electric beater. (The color will change visibly to a much lighter shade than it was when you started creaming.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I love the fact that it uses raisins and walnuts, plus when I make it the cake is so moist and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I found this cake way too dense for my tastes. I agree w/ a previous poster that it was very hard to stir and came out almost like a carrot "bread". I will not be making this again. It wasn't horrible, but it wasn't the best carrot cake either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This is a delicious cake. It's very dense and moist. The icing is TO DIE FOR! I left the raisins out because of others' tastes, but I'm sure they would be delicious as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States