Carrot Walnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
My family loved this recipe. It was very dense and moist but that is what made this recipe different and better then anyone I have ever used. And I too, agree, the icing is to die for. What I did do that could have made the icing amazing is, I whipped it for about 15 to 20 minutes. I have never had any icing that compared to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Delicious! Make sure all ingredients are at room temp otherwise batter will be thick. I used low fat cream cheese, just as yummy. Check at 50 minutes so you don't over bake. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Baked yesterday, it's delicious and moist. Thank you, girl for sharing the recipe!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I have not made this so I can't really comment on it too much but as a couple of other posters have said about it being dry I can see why if you're not using oil. The oil is where the moistness comes from. Carrot cakes are so supposed to be moist, not dry. I had to give it a rating or I couldn't post so that's why I chose the rating that I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Wonderful! we love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Very disappointed compared to other carrot cake recipe that I could not find. This cake can be dry. I could tell by looking at the batter it was too dry so I added 1/2 can of crushed pineapple which helped. The icing recipe is a good one and especially since I added the other 1/2 of the can of pineapple. There are better recipes out there, I suggest you choose one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Excellent recipe! I used the juice of one fresh lemon instead of the orange juice. I did not have any problem at all with the batter being too thick. Be sure to thoroughly cream the butter and the sugars together -- this should take as much as 5 or 10 minutes using an electric beater. (The color will change visibly to a much lighter shade than it was when you started creaming.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I love the fact that it uses raisins and walnuts, plus when I make it the cake is so moist and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I found this cake way too dense for my tastes. I agree w/ a previous poster that it was very hard to stir and came out almost like a carrot "bread". I will not be making this again. It wasn't horrible, but it wasn't the best carrot cake either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This is a delicious cake. It's very dense and moist. The icing is TO DIE FOR! I left the raisins out because of others' tastes, but I'm sure they would be delicious as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States