Carrot, Tomato, and Spinach Quinoa Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by momofthreekids
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This was tasty and flavorful. I used the vegetable bouillon cubes instead of the granules. I used 2 cubes. Next time I will probably use vegetable broth. I added more carrots, onion and spinach just because I like those ingredients. It's not heavy and perfect for a light lunch or dinner. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momofthreekids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Overall I think this is a decent recipe, just think I would enjoy it better with some changes. I added a couple cloves of garlic, crushed, into the oil before adding the onion. I think next time I will do as some fellow reviews have suggested and use canned fire roasted tomatoes & chicken stock. Probably cut back the pepper and thyme by a teaspoon each, maybe even replace the thyme with basil (or use fresh thyme). Also, I think I'll add the carrots when I put in the onions, so they will be a lot softer. Thank you for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I used 2 cups of the "Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker" recipe from here instead of the bullion and water. I also used canned diced tomatos instead of fresh (it's all I had) and used Red quinoa. This dish had a wonderful flavor that wasn't overpowering. Very light dish. I will definately make again. The only think I will say is that it took way longer than 10 minutes for the liquid to absorp. Maybe closer to 30 mintues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I loved this dish. I had some quinoa sitting in my pantry and needed to do something with it. This was perfect. I didn't have any bouillon cubes so substituted half of the water with beef broth. I also omitted the carrot since I didn't have any and added more spinach and some salt at the end. Overall, quick, easy, delicious dish that I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHARA2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
LOVE IT! Definitely something I will make over and over. I didn't have any chicken buillon so I used a cilantro and a garlic cube I had and it tasted wonderful. A good recipe to play with the flavors for variety in a favorite dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Good recipe. Other's make you cook the Quinoa in water first and it comes out bland. This way it makes it very flavourfull. I also tried it changing thyme with lemmon pepper and other spices to change it up a bit and it works just the same. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This is a tasty and healthy recipe. I made one change - I used one cup of water and one cup of beef broth and omitted the bouillon granules (because I never use bouillon). This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
TRY THIS RECIPE. I'm totally serious. I had a bag of red quinoa in my cabinet and decided to use it for this recipe. I used chard instead of spinach and a red bell pepper instead of carrots. It was pretty much a chop everything up and throw it in a pan type of recipe. It tastes delicious and turned out beautifully, the kind of side you'd serve to make an impression. Next time I make it I'll probably cut the pepper in half, for personal preference, but otherwise feel it's a great recipe and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squirrely

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I love that this is pretty healthy, but it seemed like the only flavor was the bouillon. At least it helped me get some veggies into my day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
The Quinoa had a delicious flavor but for some reason mine didn't "pop" and get fluffy like quinoa is supposed to and stayed slightly firm (almost al dente` if quinoa gets aldente, lol). Not so firm that it was inedible and it did taste good! Will try it again... wondering if the bouillon in the water counteracted with my brand or something. Next time I'll just use chicken broth like I usually do. Will be making it again because it was that good and willing to give it another whirl! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States