Carrot, Tomato, and Spinach Quinoa Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Very tasty and gives the plain quinoa a good twist! The only ingredient I modified is the bouillon granules. I used chicken bouillon granules and as we are trying to eat healthier, I cut down the portion to about 1 3/4 tsp. I am wondering if it should have been 2 tsp of granules though... (instead of 2 tbsp) because the granules pack said to mix 1 tsp of granules for every cup of water... I will definitely make this again. Healthy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I substituted bulgur for the quinoa...YUM YUM YUM! I eliminated the tomatoes, as hubby doesn't care for them, but served with some fried tofu this was my idea of the perfect light meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
The Quinoa had a delicious flavor but for some reason mine didn't "pop" and get fluffy like quinoa is supposed to and stayed slightly firm (almost al dente` if quinoa gets aldente, lol). Not so firm that it was inedible and it did taste good! Will try it again... wondering if the bouillon in the water counteracted with my brand or something. Next time I'll just use chicken broth like I usually do. Will be making it again because it was that good and willing to give it another whirl! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This dish was excellent. It is so easy and quick to make. I substituted regular spinach and did a rough cut on it. The carrot and tomato give a natural sweetness that balance the spice of the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: West Seneca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
LOVE IT! Definitely something I will make over and over. I didn't have any chicken buillon so I used a cilantro and a garlic cube I had and it tasted wonderful. A good recipe to play with the flavors for variety in a favorite dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I love that this is pretty healthy, but it seemed like the only flavor was the bouillon. At least it helped me get some veggies into my day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This rating is primarily rated based on the flavor; I found it bland and could really only taste the thyme which I didn't think went will with the quinoa. However, the recipe was easy to prepare, extremely healthy and seems simple enough to modify for flavor. Next time I will add garlic to the onion saute and try oregano and basil instead of thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
A bit too much pepper for my taste but I really like it otherwise. Using up leftover thanksgiving veggies, I also included sugar snap peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was *Fantastic* Had this tonight, wife made it. It was light yet filling. Very flavorful. I highly recommend that anyone looking to work with Quinoa give this recipe a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Overall I think this is a decent recipe, just think I would enjoy it better with some changes. I added a couple cloves of garlic, crushed, into the oil before adding the onion. I think next time I will do as some fellow reviews have suggested and use canned fire roasted tomatoes & chicken stock. Probably cut back the pepper and thyme by a teaspoon each, maybe even replace the thyme with basil (or use fresh thyme). Also, I think I'll add the carrots when I put in the onions, so they will be a lot softer. Thank you for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States