Carrot-Sweet Potato Mash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
As is, I think the recipe is really good. I used regular carrots and sliced them. I was surprised at how quickly the sweet potato cooked. Next time I think I'll start teh carrots and add the sweet potatoes after 5 min. I'll also get the applesauce out of the fridge and let it sit while cooking the potato and carrots. Our mash cooled down quite a bit with the addition of the applesauce. But really, I do think this is a good recipe. Next time I make it I'm sure I'll give it a "5 star". I think it could use a little something in the spice area, but I'm not sure what. If anyone has any thoughts, please post them. A little ginger maybe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
V. good recipe. I don't like raisins so I left those out and cut the sugar down to 2 T. It definitely needs a touch of salt and because I like the flavor, I added about 1/8 t of allspice to the butter/sugar mix. With these small changes it wasn't bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaFinDuJour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Unbelievable!!!! So incredibly easy, fast, and delicious. I think it even tastes better as a leftover the next night!!! I've made it three times this week!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PolkaDot
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
A great twist for sweet potatoes! I used an electric hand mixer to mash, which didn't mash the carrots very well, but I like the texture with the lumps in it. I used cinnamon applesauce, a little less brown sugar & butter, and no raisins (just out of laziness - next time I'll put them in). Served with barbecued chicken breasts and steamed green beans. Will make regularly, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolkaDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Too sweet, but I will reduce the amount next time. Tastes great with added pecans. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I have a really big guy for a boyfriend. It's such a chore trying to get him to eat vegetables. He ate these! Good with little marshmallows on top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOPEANN
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I've made this twice. The first time, I was very pleasantly sursprised because I really loved it. But the second time, it had such a bad taste that I had to throw it away! I think that I may have let the butter/sugar cook to long and it possibly scorched a bit. At least I'm hoping so, because I really did enjoy the recipe so much the first time around! I'll definitely give it another shot...and be careful with the sugar this time! This is a great way to get kids (and adults!) to eat their vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~MOMMY~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I modified this recipe, I was trying to use up a can of sweet potatoes and a can of carrots. I'm sure it would have been even better with fresh veggies! I ommitted the brown sugar...canned sweet taters come packed in syrup...even though I drained that off... I used 2 cans sweet taters, 1 can diced carrots, 1/2 cup applesauce. didn't have any raisins. It was good and done in less than 10 mins. Still pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
carrots cook faster than sweet potatoes---micro carrots the add to potatoe pot to make them cook evenly ---super!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I added a 2nd small sweet potato, and probably over-measured the brown sugar by a tad.. but "for me" I followed this one closely - and LOVED it!! big hit with friends too - thanks very much for sharing this dish!! it will be a regular at my table henceforth. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States