Carrot-Sweet Potato Mash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
V. good recipe. I don't like raisins so I left those out and cut the sugar down to 2 T. It definitely needs a touch of salt and because I like the flavor, I added about 1/8 t of allspice to the butter/sugar mix. With these small changes it wasn't bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaFinDuJour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
As is, I think the recipe is really good. I used regular carrots and sliced them. I was surprised at how quickly the sweet potato cooked. Next time I think I'll start teh carrots and add the sweet potatoes after 5 min. I'll also get the applesauce out of the fridge and let it sit while cooking the potato and carrots. Our mash cooled down quite a bit with the addition of the applesauce. But really, I do think this is a good recipe. Next time I make it I'm sure I'll give it a "5 star". I think it could use a little something in the spice area, but I'm not sure what. If anyone has any thoughts, please post them. A little ginger maybe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I've made this twice. The first time, I was very pleasantly sursprised because I really loved it. But the second time, it had such a bad taste that I had to throw it away! I think that I may have let the butter/sugar cook to long and it possibly scorched a bit. At least I'm hoping so, because I really did enjoy the recipe so much the first time around! I'll definitely give it another shot...and be careful with the sugar this time! This is a great way to get kids (and adults!) to eat their vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~MOMMY~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I've never been a fan of cooked carrots, but I really loved this recipe! My boyfriend isn't as big on sweet dishes as I am and he loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Boring, but can work as "comfort food".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I loved this, Im trying to convert my husband but he just cant stand the sweetness I guess. I couldnt get my carrots mashed so it had pieces throughout, i dont know if thats how its supposed to be but it was kind of nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Easy, tasty, and not TOO sweet...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Unbelievable!!!! So incredibly easy, fast, and delicious. I think it even tastes better as a leftover the next night!!! I've made it three times this week!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This recipe was quick, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This recipe actually got my hubby eating raisins!It was the first time I'd used sweet potatoes and the taste combinations were wonderful to say the least. My friends and I had it with rib-eye steak and hubby had the mash with peppered sirloin. He said the tastes complimented one another perfectly. Easy to do, easy to eat! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States