Carrot-Sweet Potato Mash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I tried this recipe because I wanted to use the carrots and sweet potatoes that I had in my pantry. Both my husband and I were disappointed in the results. Other than the fact that this recipe uses fresh vegetables, there's not much to recommend it. The butter overwhelmed the dish (it was floating on the top). The description says that it is "chunky" - but we didn't find anything "chunky" about it - and that that it has "flavors" - but we didn't taste many of those either. Note that there are NO spices in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Very good, especially as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Great dish. I cooked the carrots and sweet potatoes in a pressure cooker. Overall. it's a bit on the sweet side, maybe less sugar next time. I also liked the raisins a lot. They added good texture to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Super easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I'm "famous" (in my mind ;D), for not reading/following directions ... 'Saved this recipe, ended up at the store thinking "Huh, I should make that. I already have the sweet potatoes mashed." Well, in my fuzzy memory, I thought I read "baby carrots," which, of course, I did. I refer to baby carrots as baby carrots AND as baby FOOD carrots. 'See where I'm goin' here? :O Soooo, while I didn't follow the recipe, it is a great idea & I will use baby food carrots again. Huh? :D I used a bigger (6oz) jar baby food carrots (Green Giant stage 3 w/ barley btw) w/close to 2c already mashed sweets. I added a T brown sugar, but probably could've omitted it altogether since the baby food carrots are sweet, too. 'Didn't add anything else except a little salt. The baby food was wet enough to make it the right consistency. Whenever I need cooked, mashed sweets, I always bake 'em then mash. When they're baked, they come out sweeter (I think) than in boiling water. More flavor, too; & they freeze well. Next time, I'll use more sweet potato & the same size jar baby food carrots. Candied or just toasted nuts would be good on top. Very good, but kinda plain looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Good but next time won't use quite as many carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rdsxlolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Loved it!! I did some tweaking, less sugar (2tbsp) more applesauce (3/4c w/ cinnamon) and less raisins (1/4c)and used a light margarine rather than butter turned out great, was hoping the kids would like it after reading other reviews but no such luck! Still a great tasting dish will be adding to our Easter Meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Used frozen carrots - cooked according to packaged directions and it turned out great. Super easy, fast and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Could NOT STOP EATING this stuff. 1 in the morning, hungry and craving carrots (which usually give me headaches when I eat them) and I find this. If I had made any more, I would have eaten myself sick. This is going to be a family holiday tradition from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Delicious side dish for the fall! We really enjoyed this with our chicken dish tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States