Carrot-Sweet Potato Mash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Great dish. I cooked the carrots and sweet potatoes in a pressure cooker. Overall. it's a bit on the sweet side, maybe less sugar next time. I also liked the raisins a lot. They added good texture to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Super easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I'm "famous" (in my mind ;D), for not reading/following directions ... 'Saved this recipe, ended up at the store thinking "Huh, I should make that. I already have the sweet potatoes mashed." Well, in my fuzzy memory, I thought I read "baby carrots," which, of course, I did. I refer to baby carrots as baby carrots AND as baby FOOD carrots. 'See where I'm goin' here? :O Soooo, while I didn't follow the recipe, it is a great idea & I will use baby food carrots again. Huh? :D I used a bigger (6oz) jar baby food carrots (Green Giant stage 3 w/ barley btw) w/close to 2c already mashed sweets. I added a T brown sugar, but probably could've omitted it altogether since the baby food carrots are sweet, too. 'Didn't add anything else except a little salt. The baby food was wet enough to make it the right consistency. Whenever I need cooked, mashed sweets, I always bake 'em then mash. When they're baked, they come out sweeter (I think) than in boiling water. More flavor, too; & they freeze well. Next time, I'll use more sweet potato & the same size jar baby food carrots. Candied or just toasted nuts would be good on top. Very good, but kinda plain looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Good but next time won't use quite as many carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rdsxlolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Loved it!! I did some tweaking, less sugar (2tbsp) more applesauce (3/4c w/ cinnamon) and less raisins (1/4c)and used a light margarine rather than butter turned out great, was hoping the kids would like it after reading other reviews but no such luck! Still a great tasting dish will be adding to our Easter Meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Used frozen carrots - cooked according to packaged directions and it turned out great. Super easy, fast and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Could NOT STOP EATING this stuff. 1 in the morning, hungry and craving carrots (which usually give me headaches when I eat them) and I find this. If I had made any more, I would have eaten myself sick. This is going to be a family holiday tradition from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Delicious side dish for the fall! We really enjoyed this with our chicken dish tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
It was good, but not a favorite. I would suggest boiling the carrots and potatoes separately because the carrots did not soften as quick as the potatoes (my own mistake), which caused there to be some large pieces of carrot left that would not mash. I will probably try making it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Instead of applesauce I put in a cup of vanilla yogurt. This made it kind of creamy, and made for a wonderful midday snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdiCroft

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States