Carrot Spread Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
It does taste like carrots & pecans, and I think it needs a few more ingredients and spices to be incredible. I think it would work well to fill celery for a lunchbox, the flavors aren't strong and my 10yr old daughter liked it. I plan on trying to 'recondition' this recipe into something else so we'll enjoy it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I like this as a pinwhell appetizer and I use a food processor to pulse to the texture I like. Very fast and easy clean up too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Tasty. I had one of those "food memories" from my childhood when I tried this . I gave it 4 stars because the texture isn't pleasing for me. I stirred it together by hand but didn't like that texture either so I tried putting everything in the food processor to whip it up..that is better and now it looks and feels a bit like a grainy hummus. It is quite tasty though and I think most people would enjoy it. I made a half batch for my small family and I think that will last us awhile yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was so delicious! I added some paprika and a few dashes of hot sauce to give it more flavor. Just threw everything in the food processer. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I stuck with the recipe as is and I did not like this. I know everyone says it's great, that's why I tried it for a party. No one touched it and I thought it had no flavor. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKH1515

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Refrigerate overnight to let the flavors blend. I did add a bit more onions, but the real difference is adding about 2 tablespoons of finely chopped green pepper. That idea is from another recipe I make. In that recipe, it calls for a small can of crushed pineapple, well drained (squeezed) instead of carrots. Both are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Love this dip! Made it several times and everytime, I have multiple requests for the recipe. It is easy to change up--definitely add extra onion (red, sweet, shallot all work), peanuts add a different nice flavor, and low fat mayo works fine. Sometimes I add a pinch of sugar. I use a food processor as well for fast mixing and easy clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This was a big hit on new years. Tasted great on thin slices of sour dough bread. I increased the onion a little as one reviewer suggested. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This was a surprise indeed! I followed the recipe exactly without any changes - fresh, sweet carrots are the key. I served with "Sociables" and they were the perfect compliment to a fantastic appetizer. I would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
this turned out horrible. Maybe my carrots were not sweet enough and didn't balance out the pecan flavor? I tried it with several different crackers, and it was not good on any of them! I didn't bring it to my dinner party and would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States