Carrot Soup with Potatoes and Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This soup is GREAT! It is so flavorful ~ perfectly seasoned. It didn't even need the cream ~ I tried it both with & without the cream. The second time I made this soup, I used a yogurt garnish - in a squirt bottle. The yogurt was a fine alternative addition & floated as nicely as the cream. The cream & parsley are mostly for beautiful presentation. I found that the parsley sprig actually detracted from the soup's lovely smoothness, & tasted like its chlorophyll. I think a better green garnish is some thinly sliced green onions - the raw onion's enzymes actually help better digest cooked potato! I highly recommend this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Made this as stated in the recipe, except that I used fresh ginger (1 tbspoon), dill (1 teaspoon) and paprika (1/2 teaspoon) as the spices... delicious, comforting fall/winter soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Love the soup! I was looking for a good potatoe, carrot soup recipe and I found it. I did not add all the herbs, since I didnt have them on hand. I also did not add the heavy cream, and this soup didnt need it. I added salt and pepper for seasoning and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was excellent! Good use for leftover 5 lb bag of organic carrots. I too left out the cream to decrease fat and used sweet potato. Appropriate for simple lunch or supper or served in my fine china soup tureens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Delicious soup! Very simple and easy to make, I omitted the cream because I wanted to cut on fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
good- used vegetable stock and no cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Good recipe and really easy to make. I had to add a lot of white pepper to get it to a flavor we were happy with (about 1/4 - 1/2 teaspoon). I also added some paprika for richer color and more thyme, about 1/4 of a teaspoon. You may want to take the bay leaf out before blending (I forgot). Good flavor even without the cream. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsuever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Simple, quick and yummy! I've made this a couple of times now and it disappears within minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Basel, Basel, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Delicious and creamy. I think I will substitute some of the cream with milk, though, as the saturated fat content must have been great. 2 cups of cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sagira

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Being a Catholic housewife it's not easy finding a simple meatless dish for Friday. All of my boys love this soup, even my picky eater. The cream isn't necessary at the end, but adds a nice touch. It goes great with grilled cheese or tuna sandwiches; a great inexpensive and healthy alternative to opening a can of concentrated tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States