Carrot Soup with Potatoes and Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
A very simple but comforting soup. I served it with grilled cheese sandwiches for an easy Winter supper. Everyone loved it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This soup is GREAT! It is so flavorful ~ perfectly seasoned. It didn't even need the cream ~ I tried it both with & without the cream. The second time I made this soup, I used a yogurt garnish - in a squirt bottle. The yogurt was a fine alternative addition & floated as nicely as the cream. The cream & parsley are mostly for beautiful presentation. I found that the parsley sprig actually detracted from the soup's lovely smoothness, & tasted like its chlorophyll. I think a better green garnish is some thinly sliced green onions - the raw onion's enzymes actually help better digest cooked potato! I highly recommend this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Delicious soup! Very simple and easy to make, I omitted the cream because I wanted to cut on fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Good recipe and really easy to make. I had to add a lot of white pepper to get it to a flavor we were happy with (about 1/4 - 1/2 teaspoon). I also added some paprika for richer color and more thyme, about 1/4 of a teaspoon. You may want to take the bay leaf out before blending (I forgot). Good flavor even without the cream. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsuever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Love the soup! I was looking for a good potatoe, carrot soup recipe and I found it. I did not add all the herbs, since I didnt have them on hand. I also did not add the heavy cream, and this soup didnt need it. I added salt and pepper for seasoning and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
good- used vegetable stock and no cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Delicious and creamy. I think I will substitute some of the cream with milk, though, as the saturated fat content must have been great. 2 cups of cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sagira

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was excellent! Good use for leftover 5 lb bag of organic carrots. I too left out the cream to decrease fat and used sweet potato. Appropriate for simple lunch or supper or served in my fine china soup tureens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Simple, quick and yummy! I've made this a couple of times now and it disappears within minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Basel, Basel, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Made this as stated in the recipe, except that I used fresh ginger (1 tbspoon), dill (1 teaspoon) and paprika (1/2 teaspoon) as the spices... delicious, comforting fall/winter soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States