Carrot Soup 'a la Louise' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This soup is dynamite! Everyone loved it! And my family is totally picky, yet, I was very surprised when I looked and found all those empty bowls :-)! It is soooo good, yet healthy and totally kid-friendly and guilt-free!!!! Yet, it tastes more like a butternut squash soup than a carrot soup. I just found this flawless! Absolutely divine! I will definitely make this for the whole family again and again and again. A nonstop crowd-pleaser! Highly recommend!!!!!! A+++++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pookyspooky

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Flovilla, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jackson, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
We all loved this soup! I don't normally care for carrots, but this will deffinately get me to eat them. I had a three and five year old I cooked for and they loved it, the three yr can't get enough. I'd like it pureed better, but my husband liked it better as is. To make it healthier, I used EVOO instead of the margarine and 1/2 & 1/2 instead of milk. Personally, I might add more onion next time, but I love onions. I love soups and will be cooking this many times, might make it a traditional thanksgiving appetizer (and keep the leftovers myself.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sapphire

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Yum! We really liked this. I had a ton of carrots I needed to use and this was perfect. All of my kids loved it as well! I did use cayenne pepper instead of black pepper and left out the salt. Also cut the broth down to 5 cups. This was a delicious, easy, healthy and economical meal. I topped it with a little bit of sour cream. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I added a sprinkle of ginger and ground mustard to this recipe which gave it a great kick! It's a little bit spicy which is exactly what my husband likes. I used only 2 tbsp of butter and omitted the dill weed and marjoram since I didn't have any on hand. Great recipe, I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
A very solid recipe. Pureeing is definitely reccomended as it makes a nice smooth and attractive soup. Two notes: Using standard canned broth it comes off a bit too salty and chickeny; so I'd recommend diluting the broth 2:1 which should take care of both. Also, per a NYTimes article, boiling carrots results in a higher nutrient content than steamed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I would've rated this a 3, but my husband loved it, so I am giving it a 4. This soup is obviously supposed to be pureed, but I think the person submitting it forgot to put that in the recipe.....in the picture it is pureed, and I cannot imagine it otherwise. I also used veggie broth and real butter, which added a nice flavor. I added extra dill and a few drops of tobasco, but I still found it a bit boring and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parjata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Very quick & easy soup! Like other reviewers, I used half & half & pureed mine before serving. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Easy to make and well received. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I prepared this by using baby carrots that I had halved lengthwise. I sauteed them with the onion and seasonings along with a pinch of brown sugar to add some caramelization before I added the chicken broth. Also a few drops of hot pepper sauce to kick the flavor up a bit. Then I pureed with my immersion blender and swirled in some sour cream before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I've made this a few times, and my tongue is watering thinking about it! It tastes a lot like butternut squash soup. I pureed the carrots and onions after they were cooked. I made it again with a boxed white wine flavored chicken stock and it turned out great too. I prefer it to be a little thicker, and more like carrots instead of chicken, so I reduced the amount of stock to 4 cups (one box). It was about the consistency of runny mashed potatoes. I ate the whole pot myself in a day. FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States