Carrot Soup 'a la Louise' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Agree with others that soup lacked flavor due to meager use of spices although others found it just right for their picky eaters, including toddlers. Adding your favorite spices or multi-blend seasoning is a very simple fix to tailor the taste to your preference. Other than seasoning, the only other change was to use a high-speed blender to puree 1/2 of the soup into a creamy texture, and the other 1/2 quickly pulsed a few times to leave it with flecks and small pieces. With the adjustments, this would get a 5* rating; w/o adjustments, a 3* rating. Next time this is made, may adopt a change or two noted by reviewers that might improve the end result (e.g., reduce chicken stock to 4-5 cups & replace heavy cream w/ whole milk or coconut milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I didn't have parsley or marjoram. I used chicken stock, dill, thyme, chili pepper flakes and fresh grated ginger. When it finished cooking I blended it and added the cream. It was awesome! This will be a nice soup addition this winter! Next time I'd like to use coconut milk instead of cream to see how that would taste! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Very good soup! Never had it before and what a wonderful surprise this was. I only had 4 cups of stock but it was perfect for us. Also added a stalk of celery to the onions and the taste is wonderful. Increased the spices by a few more pinches but that was to our taste. Really good and will definitely make again. I also omitted the cream altogether and used 3T of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I had a whole load of carrots that i needed to use up and decided to give this recipe a try. It was absolutely delicious. I had no Dill or Marjoram and only had fresh parsley, I also added a sweet potato and used butter instead of margarine (prefer a natural product over a manmade chemical!). Once I pureed it there was no need to add the cornstarch. Served with fresh bread this was a delight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I thought this soup was very tasty with just a few minor enhancements to the seasonings. After tasting the finished soup I added a tablespoon of curry powder, celery salt, lots of white pepper and sea salt. After pureeing in the blender I was hoping not to have to use the cornstarch, but as written this was too thin for that. Next time I think I'll cut down a bit on the broth, and/or up the carrots for a thicker soup and skip the starch. A wonderful, fresh, springtime soup! I bought a huge bag of carrots for $2, so it's very economical, too! Thanks for sharing this with AR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
What a great flavor profile. I didn't have all the dried herbs on hand so I used dried Italian herb mix and forgot to add the cornstarch. I guess I had simmered the soup for so long that it didn't need cornstarch at all. I highly recommend using butter instead of margarine because it adds more richness. I pureed the soup like everyone said. So good, and it ended up being my boyfriend's favorite dish for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Absolutely loved it! Used 4 cups chicken broth, 2 cups vegetable broth, added a pinch of cayenne and a dash of nutmeg. Pureed the cooked carrots with a little stock and cream, then added back to the pot. Didn't even need the corn starch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Great carrot soup. Good way to use up the extra large carrots from my garden. I added a pinch of ginger powder as well for added flavor. Also pureed it. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I thought " carrot soup"...Well it ia full of flavour... however it does need to be blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This is an excellent soup! I didn't look at the reviews before I made this, so therefore did not puree my soup. I really, really loved it just the way as written...the only change I made was to use evaporated milk instead of heavy cream, because I didn't have any. I think this could very easily be made with fat-free evaporated milk and be very rich and creamy with very minimal fat. I only made a half batch because I wasn't sure if my family would care for it...they loved it! Everyone ate it up in one sitting, and some people didn't even get as much as they wanted. This recipe is a real winner, and I will be making it often!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States