Carrot Soup 'a la Louise' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
Wonderful!! I cut down on the fat by reducing the butter to 1 Tbl, and using fat-free half-and-half instead of heavy whipping cream. Didn't affect the taste at all! Note that 10 carrots is the same as 4 cups whole baby carrots (chop before adding). I also used 1/2 tsp. salt, and 1/8 tsp. pepper - would do that again. Be sure and puree the soup after cooking, or carrots will be chunky. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This soup is surprisingly good! I am not even that fond of carrots. The one thing I highly recommend is making it into a puree. I tried it both ways and it is far better if you whip it all up in the blender. Plus it's a beautiful orange color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe! I used the ingredients that I had on hand, which means that I used reduced sodium chicken broth (and I would again) and half and half instead of whipping cream. I also didn't have any marjoram or dill weed, but didn't miss it at all. I also pureed the soup prior to adding the corn starch and half and half. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Wow! I can't get enough of this soup! The subtle blend of flavors is perfect. It's a great accompaniment to quiches, sandwiches, or hearty salads. I use vegetable broth instead of chicken, and half & half instead of cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fiendishthingy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
I made this soup last year and my family loved it. Let's just say, my family doesn't do soups. Especially not carrot, but they loved this one! Caught me by suprise how easy it was and how great it tasted. Highly recommend it. Thanks for sharing it. Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
I made this soup because I had tons of carrots and needed a way to use them up fast. I had never had carrot soup before. I was very suprised that everyone loved it..including two picky toddlers! I prepared the ingredients just as written then I smoothed it out with an emulsion blender and added some crumbled crisp-cooked bacon on the top. I will be making this again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
A thick, rich, creamy DELICIOUS soup. We really enjoyed it for dinner last night. And I have been making soup for 2 years now every Wednesday and this is one of the best I've made. One thing tho ---use a food processor to slice the carrots --I did mine by hand & it took forever to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
I LOVE carrot soup but have never made it myself.Come to think of it I don't make many soups myself but this intrigued me because of the dill.The 1st time I ever had carrot soup it had dill & that set the pace for my love of it.This was a good recipe but I used fresh dill & found I really had to put a lot in to get the flavor that I like.Due to previous reviews I choose not to cut the carrots up but to grate them & after trying the "finished" product decided to puree 2/3rd of it. This way it was smoother but still left a bit of the "chunkiness".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
Awesome soup! Elegant first course. Haven't tried it on the kids yet but certainly will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Although this soup smelled fanstatic and looked beautiful, my husband and I were underwhelmed by its flavor. I used rather large "pinches" of the seasonings, but the soup still tasted rather bland. If I had ordered it in a restaurant, I wouldn't have been disappointed, but neither would I have been eager to order it again. If you like subtly flavored food then definitely give this recipe a try, but if you prefer more robust flavors (as I do) you may want to give this recipe a miss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROGAMIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States