Carrot Soup 'a la Louise' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This soup is dynamite! Everyone loved it! And my family is totally picky, yet, I was very surprised when I looked and found all those empty bowls :-)! It is soooo good, yet healthy and totally kid-friendly and guilt-free!!!! Yet, it tastes more like a butternut squash soup than a carrot soup. I just found this flawless! Absolutely divine! I will definitely make this for the whole family again and again and again. A nonstop crowd-pleaser! Highly recommend!!!!!! A+++++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pookyspooky

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Flovilla, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jackson, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
We all loved this soup! I don't normally care for carrots, but this will deffinately get me to eat them. I had a three and five year old I cooked for and they loved it, the three yr can't get enough. I'd like it pureed better, but my husband liked it better as is. To make it healthier, I used EVOO instead of the margarine and 1/2 & 1/2 instead of milk. Personally, I might add more onion next time, but I love onions. I love soups and will be cooking this many times, might make it a traditional thanksgiving appetizer (and keep the leftovers myself.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sapphire

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Yum! We really liked this. I had a ton of carrots I needed to use and this was perfect. All of my kids loved it as well! I did use cayenne pepper instead of black pepper and left out the salt. Also cut the broth down to 5 cups. This was a delicious, easy, healthy and economical meal. I topped it with a little bit of sour cream. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I added a sprinkle of ginger and ground mustard to this recipe which gave it a great kick! It's a little bit spicy which is exactly what my husband likes. I used only 2 tbsp of butter and omitted the dill weed and marjoram since I didn't have any on hand. Great recipe, I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
A very solid recipe. Pureeing is definitely reccomended as it makes a nice smooth and attractive soup. Two notes: Using standard canned broth it comes off a bit too salty and chickeny; so I'd recommend diluting the broth 2:1 which should take care of both. Also, per a NYTimes article, boiling carrots results in a higher nutrient content than steamed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I would've rated this a 3, but my husband loved it, so I am giving it a 4. This soup is obviously supposed to be pureed, but I think the person submitting it forgot to put that in the recipe.....in the picture it is pureed, and I cannot imagine it otherwise. I also used veggie broth and real butter, which added a nice flavor. I added extra dill and a few drops of tobasco, but I still found it a bit boring and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parjata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Very quick & easy soup! Like other reviewers, I used half & half & pureed mine before serving. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Easy to make and well received. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I prepared this by using baby carrots that I had halved lengthwise. I sauteed them with the onion and seasonings along with a pinch of brown sugar to add some caramelization before I added the chicken broth. Also a few drops of hot pepper sauce to kick the flavor up a bit. Then I pureed with my immersion blender and swirled in some sour cream before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I've made this a few times, and my tongue is watering thinking about it! It tastes a lot like butternut squash soup. I pureed the carrots and onions after they were cooked. I made it again with a boxed white wine flavored chicken stock and it turned out great too. I prefer it to be a little thicker, and more like carrots instead of chicken, so I reduced the amount of stock to 4 cups (one box). It was about the consistency of runny mashed potatoes. I ate the whole pot myself in a day. FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States