Carrot Soup 'a la Louise' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 5, 2004
I made this soup because I had tons of carrots and needed a way to use them up fast. I had never had carrot soup before. I was very suprised that everyone loved it..including two picky toddlers! I prepared the ingredients just as written then I smoothed it out with an emulsion blender and added some crumbled crisp-cooked bacon on the top. I will be making this again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Although this soup smelled fanstatic and looked beautiful, my husband and I were underwhelmed by its flavor. I used rather large "pinches" of the seasonings, but the soup still tasted rather bland. If I had ordered it in a restaurant, I wouldn't have been disappointed, but neither would I have been eager to order it again. If you like subtly flavored food then definitely give this recipe a try, but if you prefer more robust flavors (as I do) you may want to give this recipe a miss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROGAMIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
Wonderful!! I cut down on the fat by reducing the butter to 1 Tbl, and using fat-free half-and-half instead of heavy whipping cream. Didn't affect the taste at all! Note that 10 carrots is the same as 4 cups whole baby carrots (chop before adding). I also used 1/2 tsp. salt, and 1/8 tsp. pepper - would do that again. Be sure and puree the soup after cooking, or carrots will be chunky. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
I LOVE carrot soup but have never made it myself.Come to think of it I don't make many soups myself but this intrigued me because of the dill.The 1st time I ever had carrot soup it had dill & that set the pace for my love of it.This was a good recipe but I used fresh dill & found I really had to put a lot in to get the flavor that I like.Due to previous reviews I choose not to cut the carrots up but to grate them & after trying the "finished" product decided to puree 2/3rd of it. This way it was smoother but still left a bit of the "chunkiness".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
I'm not a huge carrot fan but this soup was pretty good. I made it exactly as written and didn't really like the look of it or the big chunks of carrots so I pureed the rest of it in the blender and I preferred it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Very soothing comfort food ... I didn't have any dill weed, but the soup still tasted great. Definitely should be puréed, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
This was the easiest soup I've ever made. I pureed the whole mix when it was done for a creamy texture and used half n half instead of heavy whipping cream. I especially like it because it's guiltless so I can eat quite a bit of it. I think next time I may put in some cilantro or chipotle for a little extra seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
this is a very easy "fancy" soup to make. Hats-off to Louise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This soup was amazing! It was flavoured so delicately and subtly. I did not puree the carrots, and quite enjoyed eating the carrot chunks. Excellent soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This soup is surprisingly good! I am not even that fond of carrots. The one thing I highly recommend is making it into a puree. I tried it both ways and it is far better if you whip it all up in the blender. Plus it's a beautiful orange color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States