Carrot Soup 'a la Louise' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I loved this recipe! I found that one lb. of carrots is just about the right amount. I only used thyme because I love the taste of thyme and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I loved this soup. Changed a couple things. Used half the amount of butter. Added one celery stalk to the onions. Also, pureed it all which was definitely the way to go. Added 3 tbps. of half & half and a little extra dill. I'll be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Like other users, I skipped some of the seasonings, just used thyme and parsley, s $ p. Also, I omitted 1 C of the broth, and at the end just added one can of evaporated milk. I skipped the cornstarch all together. Great with crusty bread on a rainy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was good and I would probably make it again. I shredded the carrots in a food processor first and once cooked smashed them with a potato smasher to break up the carrot pieces more. I used 1/2 and 1/2 and also 1/2 veg broth and 1/2 chicken broth. I think next time I'll add some chx to it! Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
If you like cooked carrots, you will enjoy the flavor of this soup. I did as others suggested and pureed most of the carrots. Because of this it was so thick I did not have to use any cornstarch. I used fat free 1/2 and 1/2 and only 1 TBSP margarine to make it less fattening. I'll eat the entire recipe, too, because my husband loves raw carrots, but he doen't like them cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
The soup was good but not filling as a meal. Definatly a first course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
A thick, rich, creamy DELICIOUS soup. We really enjoyed it for dinner last night. And I have been making soup for 2 years now every Wednesday and this is one of the best I've made. One thing tho ---use a food processor to slice the carrots --I did mine by hand & it took forever to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Wow! I can't get enough of this soup! The subtle blend of flavors is perfect. It's a great accompaniment to quiches, sandwiches, or hearty salads. I use vegetable broth instead of chicken, and half & half instead of cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fiendishthingy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe! I used the ingredients that I had on hand, which means that I used reduced sodium chicken broth (and I would again) and half and half instead of whipping cream. I also didn't have any marjoram or dill weed, but didn't miss it at all. I also pureed the soup prior to adding the corn starch and half and half. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I made this soup for a luncheon. I added some chopped fresh tomatoes and that added a nice tang to the already delicious soup! We all felt nourished by this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States