Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
Delicious, but I cut back the cayenne to 1/4 tsp. and it was plenty. I also used chicken stock instead of vegetable stock. Tried with fat free half & half and it was ALMOST as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
Very delicious and tasty. My husband was sick today and really doesn't enjoy soup but this great soup did the trick. I eliminated the parsley, put half (milk) and half (half and half) and after it was all done, I made it boil once again to make all the flavours come through. I also used 1 tsp dried basil instead of fresh. 10/10!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
I recommend 1/2 or even 1/4 of the cayenne pepper, it was very spicy!! This soup is a nice soup to serve before a main meal instead of a salad on a cold day(just a small bowl though - it's very rich)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKNWOMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Very, very tasty. I added a little too much red pepper, but other than that this is the best carrot soup I've made....love using the fresh herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
I am a great fan of a carrot soup made by old german friends. I came to this site for a good carrot soup recipe, however I have to admit I was disapointed in this recipe. Carrots and cayenne don't seem to harmonize, in my opinnion anyway. Also, I don't think I steamed the carrots enough, and even after blending them in the food processor the soup was still lumpy/grainy. Maybe my previous experience with carrot soup set my standards too high??!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
Wow! This is way too spicy!! I made my first batch using only 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper and it was so incredibly spicy, I had to throw it away! I made a batch the following night without any cayenne and it was very good. Didn't even need salt and pepper. I love spicy foods but I couldn't help but wonder if the 1 tsp called for was typed incorrectly. Overall, the soup is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
This was really excellent. I love Cayenne Pepper and used just under 1 teaspoon of Schilling Ground (Cayenne) Red Pepper as it seemed like a lot, still some of my guests found it too hot, I would suggest 1/2 a teaspoon may be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
This was truly delicious! I used milk instead of half and half and it still came out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
creamy, filling, very tasty. I loved it and so did my friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
Very tasty and most of the ingredients are easy to find and most of time in one's kitchen... easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States