Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Wow, this soup is delicious! Based on the spiciness in the reviews, I substituted one fresh chilli. I had no basil, but put in a couple of stalks of celery. It was amazing. My partner had hers without hers being blended (I blended it after everything had simmered together for awhile) and I had mine after blending it with a stick blender. Perhaps this is the best soup we've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
My Kitchen Prod teacher almost died when she tasted this soup... the cayenne completely obliterates any carrot flavour along with your tastebuds! We wound up having to drown it out with a huge amount of broth, and then it still lacked any carrot taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummySmells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
TOO SPICY!!! I used less than 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper! I have used this recipe multiple times. Here are some other changes I made... -Omitted red pepper -Used 3 cans carrots (makes it super easy) -Used 3/4 cup light cream and 1 1/4 cup milk...came out fine. -If too spicy add more cream/half/half/milk and potato flakes to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONLIGHT369

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
had some carrots that i needed to use up, and had all the other ingredients on hand except basil, substituted dill. excellent taste, but i use 1/4 t cayenne on a daily basis, and 1 T was even too much for me. my lips were tingly after every bite :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Food Girl
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This soup is different that I had hoped it would be, but surprisingly very tasty anyway. I used a 1/2 teaspoon of un-ground red pepper instead of the full amount, substituted the half and half for milk and used 3/4 cup of the water from the steaming of the carrots in place of the 3/4 cup of vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Very tasty and easy to make. But even with slightly 1/3 tsp a cayenne, it's a bit too spicy. I suggest 1/4 tsp... I skipped the parsley and used fat-free half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This was great...I have been looking for a long time for a carrot soup that I liked, and this was it....Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This is a very flavorful soup.My Husband found this a little too spicy so next time I will cut down on the cayenne pepper. This soup really brings out the natural flavor of Carrots. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUV_2_B_MUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Surprisingly good. I added too much spice though. Made it a bit too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
Change the amount of pepper to a few dashes and this is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States