Carrot Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
With minor modifications, this is excellent. Only 1/2 cup sugar (1/4 cup brown, 1/4 cup white), a teaspoon of cinnamon and butter rather than margarine. The day before I'm going to serve I boil the carrots and puree them with the butter, sugar and vanilla, then refrigerate. Just before baking, I add the flour, baking powder & eggs (if you add the bp too far in advance, it won't rise as nicely).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
360 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Dolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
The new hit for the holiday table! When my grandmother was alive, she'd have me go pick up the carrot souffle at Picadilly Restaurant. Now living in Texas, that option doesn't exist so I found this recipe and tried it for Thanksgiving. It was DELICIOUS...just as good as the restaurant...and is now officially part of our holiday menu. By popular demand, I made it again for Christmas. Try it! Weight Watchers...try the Splenda Baking Mix of sugar and Splenda to bring the calories down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
SO GOOD. GREAT, EASY AND DELICIOUS!!! I READ REVIEWS AND IT WAS HELPFUL TO MAKE IT EARLY IN THE MORNING KEEP IT IN THE REFRIGERATOR AND 1 HOUR BEFORE DINNER ADD FLOUR, BP AND EGGS THEN PUT IT ON THE OVEN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Like many other reviewers, I halved the sugar and added cinnamon. It was more like a fluffy version of sweet potato pie filling than a souffle as I think of them, but it was amazing. It does lose its puff as it cools, but it doesn't have the texture of a fallen souffle and I actually think the flavor comes out a bit more when it's slightly cooled. I boiled my carrots until they were super-soft and used a food processor, but still had little carrot chunks; didn't hurt the end result at all though. Would make a great holiday dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
What a delightful way to prepare carrots. I used about 2 pounds of carrots and a stick of butter instead of margarine. I threw everything into a large baking dish and gave it several good pulses with my hand mixer (hand held blender) until everything was nice and smooth. My mom and grandmother went wild over this stuff and have since made it many, many times using Splenda. I was even able to get my 5 year old to try some with cool-whip on top. Very good recipe Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
My 15-year old son and I finished it all in one sitting! Definitely use less than half the sugar (split white and brown 50-50) and half the butter. It would also be nice with a topping of brown sugar and chopped pecans. We topped our servings with whipped cream. This could easily pass for a dessert! Use all three eggs and the correct amount of baking soda and it will puff up nicely in a souffle baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
This turned out incredible! It melts in your mouth. I did add a few dashes of cinnamon with the carrots and topped with brown sugar before baking. My husband thought it was a bit sweet and should have been dessert, but I thought it made a great side. Just be sure to cook the carrots until they are VERY tender, so they will mix well. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This is marvolous. It has a nice light texture, excellent flavor and looks beautiful on a plate. I served it up in individual ramikens and that helped it cook faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I took the advice of other reviewers and only used half of the white sugar of the recipe. Still turned out very sweet. Got wonderful reviews. Would add cinnamon or maybe nutmeg next time to give it more of a "holiday flavor".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
S0-ooo Good! A buffet hit! Dessert quality-remember to balance with not-so -sweet sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States