Carrot Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Doc Simonson
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I found this recipe just a touch too sweet for my tastes. If I make this recipe again, I will leave out the marshmallows and maybe add some sunflower seeds and a touch (a drop!) of toasted sesame oil. Takes a fair bit of time to julienne that much carrot too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc Simonson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This was a little dull, maybe because I didnt add marshmallows but with the addition of shredded coconut it improved it alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This was good as written, although next time i would add another cup of carrots. 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Emporia, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I made this up, snacked a bit on it right at that moment, even giving one of the kids a bite and we loved it. Then I realized it was to sit for 12 plus hours so I tried it instead for the next night and it ended up as a soggy mess that no one wanted. It says 12+ hours but maybe 12 hours is the max? 2 stars because it started off good and just went down hill for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Thought this salad was a little tasteless. Wasn't quite sure what was "creamy salad dressing". Is that Mayo? Next time might use cole slaw dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Wonderful salad, both pleasing to the eye as well as the palate! I did substitute Splenda for the sugar, and used crushed pineapple as that is what I had on hand. This is definitely a recipe that I will use again and again. Thank you, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wolfe City, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I made this salad for Easter to go with our ham. It was very good and nowhere as sweet as I thought it would be - which was good. Instead of pineapple tidbits I used crushed pineapple and left out the celery. Everyone enjoyed it, even my 6 year old who hates all things vegetable. I would definitely make this again. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Have never had marshmallows in a carrot salad before and I 8+) liked it. The only change I made was to use crushed pineapple instead of tidbits. Very good will be make aging.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
This one brings back memories of childhood. My mom used to add a tablespoon or two of peanut butter to the dressing. It made for a nice variation. We don't care for marshamallow in anything. I left those and the sugar out of the mix. I felt the raisins, pineapple and carrots themselves were sweet enough. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Sounds odd, but since it got great reviews and 5 stars I decided to try it. It was a hit!! Very good. I didnt use celery since I didnt have any, and I would have to say it wasnt missing it. Tasted great without it. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Grosvenordale, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States