Carrot Ring Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2005
This isn't a side dish. It's more of a quick bread. I thought it was only okay, but my six year old vegetable-away liked it a lot. The four year old didn't. 'Can't like the same things - ever! :D Update (Years later. That six year old is now fourteen! :O :D) I tried it again omitting the lemon juice, adding half teaspoon vanilla extract & half teaspoon cinnamon. It was closer to two & a half cups shredded carrots, too. I baked for about half an hour on three fifty, greasing & flouring an eight by eight. I could taste that little bit of cinnamon, which wasn't bad, but I think I'd like a more subtle taste. No, it didn't scream "cinnamon," but if you're thinking of adding, I wouldn't add more than half teaspoon (especially considering the low sugar amount. 'Could easily become bitter.) Oh, used smart balance olive oil/butter blend. No problem with dryness - either time. Fourteen year old still likes it, but not that there are carrots in it. :) It is a vegetable, ya know! :D Prep note: If your carrots aren't pretty, peel 'em. Mine weren't & dark spots from the peel showed up the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Awesome recipe! I didn't know what to expect but I was blown away by the taste. I made it into 6 large muffins instead of a ring so I can freeze them. I added a little more carrots (2.5-3 cups or 3 large carrots, shredded). And I put in about a tsp of cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg. So good! This recipe is definitely a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I love this. So does my husband. Try these changes. 3-4 cups carrots, 2-4 TBS chopped crystalized ginger, tsp of orange zest and tsp of lemon zest, small can drained pineapple tidbits and some cinnamon to taste. I bake in 8" square pan. Bake for about 25 minutes or a bit longer if needed. What I really appreciate is the low calorie count even with the pineapple addition. I do think that this recipe should be reclassifiend under snacks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Prinzesvee
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Great! i was looking for a side dish but got something much better it almost tasted like carrot cake i sprinkled the top with powdered sugar and made a salad for the veggie, my girlfriends daughter who is 5 really liked it so did both of my boys 15 & 16 they never eat their vegetables this is a good to sneak it in...... Thanks for a great reecipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
My mother used to make a couple versions of this, in fact it is included in "Thoughts for Buffet" printed in 1958. Only that version calls for 1 cup shortening which i converted to one cup softened butter, but that is a lot of butter...i will try reducing it per the proportions in this version. It also used cake flour (1-1/2 cups), and included 1 tsp cinnamon and a half tsp nutmeg, and no salt, 1-1/2 cups carrot, 2 Tb lemonjuice, 1Tb lemon rind, and same amnts eggs and baking powder and baking soda as this recipe. My mother taught me to bake it with the mold sitting in a pot of water. I dont have a metal mold but a bundt pan worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I used a pan which made individual leaf shaped breads, about dinner roll size. They were very tasty as a 'dinner roll' and very decorative with the leaf shapes. It is a fun alternative to regular rolls and takes so much less time because it does not require yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I didn't have any dinner buns so this recipe was perfect. The only thing I changed was by adding cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This recipe made great muffins! I added 1/2 tsp. of allspice, 1 tsp. of cinnamon they're wonderful - I lowered the oven temperature a bit to make sure they were cooked through without burning the bottoms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I don't know what catagory to put this under either. More like a bread than side dish. It came out rather dense and it needs something. Don't know what yet. Tastes almost like pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This was disappointing. I followed the recipe exactly (unusual for me) but it came out bland, dense and flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States