Carrot Ring Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2005
This isn't a side dish. It's more of a quick bread. I thought it was only okay, but my six year old vegetable-away liked it a lot. The four year old didn't. 'Can't like the same things - ever! :D Update (Years later. That six year old is now fourteen! :O :D) I tried it again omitting the lemon juice, adding half teaspoon vanilla extract & half teaspoon cinnamon. It was closer to two & a half cups shredded carrots, too. I baked for about half an hour on three fifty, greasing & flouring an eight by eight. I could taste that little bit of cinnamon, which wasn't bad, but I think I'd like a more subtle taste. No, it didn't scream "cinnamon," but if you're thinking of adding, I wouldn't add more than half teaspoon (especially considering the low sugar amount. 'Could easily become bitter.) Oh, used smart balance olive oil/butter blend. No problem with dryness - either time. Fourteen year old still likes it, but not that there are carrots in it. :) It is a vegetable, ya know! :D Prep note: If your carrots aren't pretty, peel 'em. Mine weren't & dark spots from the peel showed up the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
EASY AND PRESENTS WELL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This has become a family favorate. It has become a Thanksgiving staple. I didn't need to change any of the ingredients or directions, which I usually have to adjust or tweak a little.e
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I would agree that this is a quick bread not a side dish. Came out great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I didn't have any dinner buns so this recipe was perfect. The only thing I changed was by adding cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Prinzesvee
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Great! i was looking for a side dish but got something much better it almost tasted like carrot cake i sprinkled the top with powdered sugar and made a salad for the veggie, my girlfriends daughter who is 5 really liked it so did both of my boys 15 & 16 they never eat their vegetables this is a good to sneak it in...... Thanks for a great reecipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
a great change from the usual biscuits or rolls, also very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This was disappointing. I followed the recipe exactly (unusual for me) but it came out bland, dense and flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Real easy. Tasted yummy. Great way to get kids to eat carrots. I made a powder sugar glaze for a topping and served it as a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Awesome recipe! I didn't know what to expect but I was blown away by the taste. I made it into 6 large muffins instead of a ring so I can freeze them. I added a little more carrots (2.5-3 cups or 3 large carrots, shredded). And I put in about a tsp of cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg. So good! This recipe is definitely a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States