Carrot Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
We have a peanut allergy in our home so I made it without. In addition to these ingredients I added a pinch of cane sugar to the onions while browning and honey before adding the rice. Forgot the cilantro but it turned out amazing. The ginger/carrot mix is genius. I will be adding my version to our faves. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Wow this is our ATF way to have rice that has a kick bad goes with lots of soups and salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This one is a solid 3 for me. It wasn't difficult to prepare, but it just had an OK flavor. I can't think of a dish this would go well with, other than plain chicken or pork, just to have a jazzier side dish. It wasn't bland, but for me, the flavors just didn't mesh well. I probably won't make again, but if I do, I might replace the water with Chicken Broth, just to give the rice a smoother background for the spices, carrots and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Easily the best flavorful rice I have ever eaten! Finely chopped salted peanuts and used ginger paste...simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Amazing! I made this twice. The first time was for a dinner party. I made the recipe as closely as I could given my ingredients on hand. I substituted 3/4 tsp ground ginger and honey roasted peanuts. I served it with Vindaloo Chicken. It was delicious and got rave reviews. The rice is on the dry side, perfect for the sauce of the indian dish I paired it with. The second time I made this I followed review suggestions to moisten it up a bit and toss in 1/2 tsp of Better than Bullion and a small amount of water when steaming the carrots. The result when combined in the final stage was a mushy rice mix than I didn't care for. The flavor profile was still great but the beauty of the recipe is getting a nice flavorful rice that flakes and not clumps. This recipe is awesome exactly the way it is. Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamacita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Lovely dish! The picture doesn't do it justice as the rice comes out very light and fluffy. The delicate basmati rice with the bold flavor of ginger, sweet carrots and salty peanuts is such a nice balance of flavors. I served this with Indian Cauliflower found on this site and they complimented each other well. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Great Recipe, I added some safron and rose water. Served with chicken with an orange sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Great recipe!!!Had this at an Indian Restaurant,some time ago. I just couldn't figure out the different spices. Glad to have it in my recipe box. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I was skeptical about this rice because it seemed to easy of a recipe. Also, I'm not a fan of veggies, why on earth would anyone put carrots in rice?! Anyhow, tried it, and boy am I glad I did. Added lots of cayenne to give it spice. Skipped the cilantro because I had none on hand. Flavour was still great, but green probably makes it more pretty. Also I used some natural peanut butter and peanut oil because I didn't have peanuts. Love love loved this dish! Paired it with salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This was delicious! My family loves it just as is, but I think next time I'll make more of the carrot mixture. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States