Carrot Rice Nut Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
The flavor of these burgers should get at least 4 stars, but I'm giving it three because they were so incredibly crumbly. I couldn't make them hold together at all. I tried adding some egg and that helped a little, but they still just fell apart in the pan (and I'm not a novice veggie-burger cook--I've done this before). I actually went back and reread the recipe several times because I thought I must have missed something. I may try a modified version again if I can think of a way to help them hold their shape a bit more. Again--the flavor was excellant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garberville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
It's a wonderful recipe with sunflower seeds. it will be better if cooked brown rice mix into bowl containing mixture then put in food processor to get consistency. tasty patties !!sunflowernut rice burger. it can be refigerated for a week's time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
It was pretty good. A bit crumbly though. I added some curry because I was afraid it might lack spices. I'll do it again, but next time I'll add less sunflower seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
Very good- ours turned out a bit crumbly when we cooked them, not sure why, but we will make again! Maybe I will add some corn as others have done. We are on a wheat/dairy free diet, and this is a great addition- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
best veggie burger i've ever tasted and very fun to make! i replaced 1/3 of the rice called for with a 15-ounce can of red kidney beans that i rinsed (thoroughly!), drained, and mashed up. i left some of the rice grains whole for texture. i also added 1 tablespoon of fresh parsley and a heaping 1/2 teaspoon of each of the following: thyme, oregano, sage, and black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This was good but I did it as a loaf and increased the dry ingredients. It was a bit moist and took wayyyyyy longer to cook than stated. Children and dh enjoyed so that was all that counted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
Soooooo goood! Everyone should try this recipe. Next time, I think I'll experiment with adding different things, like spinach, more onion, spices, etc. yummmmmmmmmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPELTRONG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
This is a great recipe! I just made these tonight and I can't wait to see how they do after being frozen. I added spinach and corn just to add some of my faviorite vegies. Finally I can satisfy a vegi-burger craving without having to go to the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
I love this recipe it is so easy to modify. I made it tonight but didn't have cashews so I used walnuts and sunflower seeds. I also added spinach to the carrots and onions. Oh I only had a small sweet onion so I added a bunch of green onions. Yumm. These are great to take out of the freezer for a quick meal too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
These burgers are delicious. The recipe makes ALOT of them, though. They freeze well before cooking and then you can defrost as many as you need when you're in the mood for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States