Carrot Rice Nut Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, but, the final result does NOT look anything like the picture seen above. Forming the patties seem to stick, but once on the hot grill, the patties started to fall apart during the 2nd flip. Very disappointed. Instead, I ended up feeding my family aka basically fried rice style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Best Veggie Burgers I have ever made by far! And they stuck together wonderfully, because I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I'm glad I cut this recipe in half and then half again because it was tasteless. Not a substitute for a burger in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I was really frustrated with these burgers...I should have known better than to not add in extra seasoning/spices. I followed the recipe as directed for the first two burgers. They were so bland. The only redeeming quality were the condiments I had on hand. I really wish other reviewers would have rated the recipe as directed before all their amendments. I will batch out the rest of the "batter" and will be experimenting with suggestions from other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This was just ok. I was really hoping for something more savory. Ahh well....the search goes on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Now, I have to admit to not having tried other veggie burgers and this is not written as a comparison to those or to ground beef burgers. We initally tried the patties plain and not served on a bun with condiments. I made the recipe as written except that I used raw cashews and sunflower seeds. We all found the patties to be bland and this could be partially due to using raw nuts. The overall consensus was that this recipe makes A LOT of burgers; especially, if you feel somewhat ho-hum about them. We have been using them up in stir fries or with sauces, for added flavour/moisture, which is nice. The addition of spice to the base recipe is recommended. I will likely try again with a smaller recipe portion, toasted nuts/seeds and some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Nut burgers...AWESOME! We tweaked the recipe a little and used Trader Joe's Organic Brown Rice (microwave in 3 min.), we also used walnuts and almonds instead of cashews. We followed the rest of the recipe, then added cumin, garlic & herbs. We heat our burgers on a cast iron skillet and break them up as they get crispy. We serve our nut burger (now, ground nut burger) on a whole grain or wheat flour tortilla with jack cheese, sprouts, tomatoes, kosher dill pickles, avocado and Vegennaise. This is our favorite Meatless Monday dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Ingenious! The rice is sticky and holds the patties together beautifully, much better than my usual bean burgers. I used slightly more cashews because my sunflower seed package was only 12 oz instead of 16. My (old) food processor bogged down on the rice, and I had to pulse the rice with onion and carrot to make it work right. I browned the patties on my griddle instead of grilling. Excellent nutty taste! I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
my husband and i enjoyed this recipe. i had to change the specs, though, because i didn't need 20 patties. i used 2 cups of cooked rice leftover from a lebanese dish we had bought, 1/2 cup cashews, 1/4c sunflower seeds, 1/4 medium onion, and about 12 baby carrots (abt 5 oz.) i followed the directions as given and put the 4 1/2 patties on my george foreman grill. i think next time, i would just add more onions and salt. overall, great alternative to the bean and meat burgers. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mothertameka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Made a double batch it made 28 patties. Made them thin 1/2" so they heat all the way through and are toasted nicely on the outside. I ground the nuts to a "meal" consistency for better binding so burgers do not fall apart in fry pan. No need for any eggs. Chopped the carrots and onions very finely. Substituted 1 cup of rice for 1x19oz. can of chick peas also ground finely. Substituted olive oil with healthier and tastier organic virgin coconut oil. Once all ingredients were mixed together it seemed a bit dry so I added a 1/4 cup almond milk. The consistency was just like a ground beef or turkey mixture perfect for making into patties. I did add salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, dill weed, and cumin. I mashed and mixed with my hands ensuring all ingredients were well distributed. After forming into patties I separated them with wax paper and into Ziplock bag two at a time great for grabbing and making a quick lunch or dinner and into the freezer. After a half hour in freezer I fried them slowly at medium heat in coconut oil. They are a huge hit in my house...so tasty...absolutely no crumbling...perfect healthy yummy snack. We do not eat them as hamburger substitute....we love them alone or in a pita very felafel-like. Great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpeshulK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States