Carrot Rice Nut Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I only made 1/4th of a recipe, but otherwise made these exactly per the recipe, using somewhere between 1/2 and 3/4 tsp salt. Tasting the mixture, I thought it really needed something more (hence the 4-star rating for the recipe as-is). I added about 1/4 tsp ground cumin, and thought it was much better. I'd definitely suggest adding whatever herbs or spices you like to add a bit more flavor. With the extra seasoning, my husband loved it and said it was one of the best veggie burgers he's eaten. Putting the fresh, hot rice in the food processor turns it into a sticky paste which is what holds the mixture together. The patties still looked pretty soft, though, so I pan-fried them instead of grilling them. I don't know if it would work as well if you used previously-cooked rice. I think the total time listed (2 1/2 hours) is way wrong. Most of the prep work can be done while the rice is cooking, so it should really only take the time to cook the rice plus another 20-30 minutes for the final prep and cooking - so less than 1 1/2 hours total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, but, the final result does NOT look anything like the picture seen above. Forming the patties seem to stick, but once on the hot grill, the patties started to fall apart during the 2nd flip. Very disappointed. Instead, I ended up feeding my family aka basically fried rice style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Best Veggie Burgers I have ever made by far! And they stuck together wonderfully, because I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I'm glad I cut this recipe in half and then half again because it was tasteless. Not a substitute for a burger in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I was really frustrated with these burgers...I should have known better than to not add in extra seasoning/spices. I followed the recipe as directed for the first two burgers. They were so bland. The only redeeming quality were the condiments I had on hand. I really wish other reviewers would have rated the recipe as directed before all their amendments. I will batch out the rest of the "batter" and will be experimenting with suggestions from other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This was just ok. I was really hoping for something more savory. Ahh well....the search goes on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Now, I have to admit to not having tried other veggie burgers and this is not written as a comparison to those or to ground beef burgers. We initally tried the patties plain and not served on a bun with condiments. I made the recipe as written except that I used raw cashews and sunflower seeds. We all found the patties to be bland and this could be partially due to using raw nuts. The overall consensus was that this recipe makes A LOT of burgers; especially, if you feel somewhat ho-hum about them. We have been using them up in stir fries or with sauces, for added flavour/moisture, which is nice. The addition of spice to the base recipe is recommended. I will likely try again with a smaller recipe portion, toasted nuts/seeds and some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Nut burgers...AWESOME! We tweaked the recipe a little and used Trader Joe's Organic Brown Rice (microwave in 3 min.), we also used walnuts and almonds instead of cashews. We followed the rest of the recipe, then added cumin, garlic & herbs. We heat our burgers on a cast iron skillet and break them up as they get crispy. We serve our nut burger (now, ground nut burger) on a whole grain or wheat flour tortilla with jack cheese, sprouts, tomatoes, kosher dill pickles, avocado and Vegennaise. This is our favorite Meatless Monday dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Ingenious! The rice is sticky and holds the patties together beautifully, much better than my usual bean burgers. I used slightly more cashews because my sunflower seed package was only 12 oz instead of 16. My (old) food processor bogged down on the rice, and I had to pulse the rice with onion and carrot to make it work right. I browned the patties on my griddle instead of grilling. Excellent nutty taste! I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
my husband and i enjoyed this recipe. i had to change the specs, though, because i didn't need 20 patties. i used 2 cups of cooked rice leftover from a lebanese dish we had bought, 1/2 cup cashews, 1/4c sunflower seeds, 1/4 medium onion, and about 12 baby carrots (abt 5 oz.) i followed the directions as given and put the 4 1/2 patties on my george foreman grill. i think next time, i would just add more onions and salt. overall, great alternative to the bean and meat burgers. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mothertameka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States