Carrot Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Hunnibell
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
The "Ready In" time of 17 minutes seems totally unrealistic. I timed the whole process, and from start to finish it took me an hour and half, mostly because it simply takes a very long time for "most the milk" to evaporate. Still, patience paid off, and the recipe was delicious. It didn't seem as sickeningly sweet to me as some other Indian desserts I've tried, although it certainly is sweet. I used golden raisins, which tasted great, but I think regular raisins would serve as a better garnish because they would provide greater contrast against the cashews and carrots. Although making this dessert took a long time, it was extremely easy and except for the cardamom (which I had to buy for this recipe, but will use in other Indian dishes), the ingredients are all very simple and straightforward. We'll be enjoying this dish in my daughter's 5th grade class tomorrow as part of an early Diwali festival celebration, so thanks to the poster for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hunnibell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
My entire family fell in love with this recipe, even my father who hates carrots. It is sweet and easy. I whipped it up in a few minutes and it was great cold the next afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
This is a nice recipe and a simple easy and nutritious dessert to make. I found adding a little bit of condensed milk gives it a nice taste too along with the sugar. you can adjust the quantities according to how sweet you want it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This recipe surprised me. I enjoyed it, but no one else in my family did (hence the 4 stars). I substituted part of the milk with sweetened condensed milk (I ran out of reg.) and reduced the sugar. I also added some cinnamon. It added a little warmth to the dish. Please note that the mixture does thicken as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss  Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Instead of regular milk & sugar, I used a 14 oz can of sweetened condensed milk. Cooking off the liquid still took 45 min. Everyone liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
This tasted great, but it took me a couple HOURS for the liquid to evaporate. Even then, it was still a little "wet".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I Loved this. I served for breakfast. My picky texture family didn't like it but they made up there minds before they even tasted it. I am giving 5 stars because I thought it was amazing. I made 1/2 the recipe because I didn't have enough carrots. I also substituted Vanilla Almond Milk because of milk allergies in my family. I also used a combination of cashews and almonds. I cut the butter in 1/2 and didn't add any sugar at all. The vanilla almond milk made it sweet enough. I added a little of the carrot milk out of the pan to the pan with the nuts. Instead of cardamon I used a pinch of pumpkin pie spice. SOOO Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
very simple to make, but time consuming. It is a bitt too sweet for our taste, even for my kids who are addicted to sugar! Otherwise, delicious and flavourful. Almost addictive! I would add all kinds of nuts to it next time, it would lighten up the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This recipe is delicious! I’ve tried it with a whole cup and a half cup of sugar and the half cup lets you taste the carrots more but the full cup makes a good desert. The cardamom is a must to get the full experience of this dish. Not counting shredding the carrots, I can make this in about 20-30 minutes if I brown the cashews at the same time as I’m cooking the carrots. For the carrots I cook them on the highest setting my big burner will go and stir constantly so they don’t burn. This cuts the time down but you have to stir continuously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was great! My mother said it tasted even better than the local indian restaraunt's carrot desert dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States