Carrot Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Time's unrealistic, I thought she put her mixture at high on the stove, turned out it was like about 40 to 50 minutes. Add only cardamom and make sure your carrots are mashed when done cooking. Keep moving so they're cooked evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nnmehta

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Delicious the way I made it using this as a general idea: I grated four cups of carrots, and in a frying pan (not a saucepan - wanted to keep the boil time low) added the carrots and a can of sweetened condensed milk and on high boiled for about 10 minutes constantly stirring. I did add a little bit of milk near the end because I wanted the carrots to be soft. After all that had boiled out (for the most part) I added about 1/2 cup of brown sugar. In a seperate pan I melted some butter and added slivered almonds (waht I had on hand) and raisins. I even added some dates I had....after sauteing them for a few minutes I sprinkled some cloves and cinnamon on top of the carrots and put the nut raisin mixture on top and served. All of my very picky children enjoyed this "Indian dessert" and said it tasted like pumpkin pie. Really nice change of pace. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Partyof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I changed this recipe up a bit but LOVED it. I used coconut milk instead of milk and eliminated all of the sugar. I think carrots are sweet plus the raisins make for plenty of sugar already. I added 1-2 teaspoons of cardamom to the coconut milk/carrot mixture so the flavor would infuse. DELICIOUS!!! It took far longer than 10 minutes for the liquid to boil off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
i love making this as a dessert or side when we do an indian food night. i do replace the sugar with honey, and the milk always takes longer than the recipe says it should to evaporate for me, but i might just not be cooking it hot enough? either way eventually it all works out and i love the flavors and textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
My husband's favorite desert is payasam, so when I found this recipe I knew I had to try it. In addition to tons of carrots I have more pineapple than I can get through, so I pureed, and strained a pineapple into the carrots and milk. I also toasted some cumin and coriander seeds before crushing them and adding to the cooking carrots. Finally, I didn't have any white sugar, so I used Demerra. The result is awesome! Highly recommend this recipe as a jumping off point though I can't speak for the recipe as written which is why gave it only 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I followed other reviewers' suggestion and started with sweetened condensed milk. I used 1 pound of carrots, grated, one 14 oz can of sweetened condensed milk, and 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon. From start to finish was about 20 minutes (including peeling & grating the carrots). Very tasty and sweet enough to be dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I Loved this. I served for breakfast. My picky texture family didn't like it but they made up there minds before they even tasted it. I am giving 5 stars because I thought it was amazing. I made 1/2 the recipe because I didn't have enough carrots. I also substituted Vanilla Almond Milk because of milk allergies in my family. I also used a combination of cashews and almonds. I cut the butter in 1/2 and didn't add any sugar at all. The vanilla almond milk made it sweet enough. I added a little of the carrot milk out of the pan to the pan with the nuts. Instead of cardamon I used a pinch of pumpkin pie spice. SOOO Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I was not thrilled with the texture. It may have been my own impatience; so the way the recipe turned out might be my fault. I would do this recipe again; I think it could be done much like a rice pudding. It does store up well in small batches in the frig, but the re-heating gets it back to the soupy texture that I did not like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JG Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
very simple to make, but time consuming. It is a bitt too sweet for our taste, even for my kids who are addicted to sugar! Otherwise, delicious and flavourful. Almost addictive! I would add all kinds of nuts to it next time, it would lighten up the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Instead of regular milk & sugar, I used a 14 oz can of sweetened condensed milk. Cooking off the liquid still took 45 min. Everyone liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States