Carrot Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Instead of regular milk & sugar, I used a 14 oz can of sweetened condensed milk. Cooking off the liquid still took 45 min. Everyone liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I like this very much, but it took nearly an hour for the milk to absorb. There must be an easier way. Who has time on Thanksgiving to stir for an hour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beaubrent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This recipe is delicious! I’ve tried it with a whole cup and a half cup of sugar and the half cup lets you taste the carrots more but the full cup makes a good desert. The cardamom is a must to get the full experience of this dish. Not counting shredding the carrots, I can make this in about 20-30 minutes if I brown the cashews at the same time as I’m cooking the carrots. For the carrots I cook them on the highest setting my big burner will go and stir constantly so they don’t burn. This cuts the time down but you have to stir continuously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was great! My mother said it tasted even better than the local indian restaraunt's carrot desert dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Delicious!! 1 cup sugar makes this maple syrup sweet; reduce the sugar for more carrot / vegetable flavor. As with another reviewer, this took much longer than "17 minutes" to cook. I used 2 cups of 2% milk and 4 cups (32 oz.) of shredded carrots. It took approximately 90 minutes to boil it down to the point of "most of the milk evaporates" - on medium high, uncovered. Added cinnamon and ground cloves based on personal preference. Also toasted some pecans first, before the rest of the topping. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RADNJ79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dumont, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hunnibell
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
The "Ready In" time of 17 minutes seems totally unrealistic. I timed the whole process, and from start to finish it took me an hour and half, mostly because it simply takes a very long time for "most the milk" to evaporate. Still, patience paid off, and the recipe was delicious. It didn't seem as sickeningly sweet to me as some other Indian desserts I've tried, although it certainly is sweet. I used golden raisins, which tasted great, but I think regular raisins would serve as a better garnish because they would provide greater contrast against the cashews and carrots. Although making this dessert took a long time, it was extremely easy and except for the cardamom (which I had to buy for this recipe, but will use in other Indian dishes), the ingredients are all very simple and straightforward. We'll be enjoying this dish in my daughter's 5th grade class tomorrow as part of an early Diwali festival celebration, so thanks to the poster for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hunnibell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
Made the just the way it writhen, including sprinkling with cardamom. Was very good although a bit too sweet, next time will cut the sugar to ¾ of a cup versus a whole cup. My husband said with about half as much sugar he would like it as a breakfast food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This recipe surprised me. I enjoyed it, but no one else in my family did (hence the 4 stars). I substituted part of the milk with sweetened condensed milk (I ran out of reg.) and reduced the sugar. I also added some cinnamon. It added a little warmth to the dish. Please note that the mixture does thicken as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss  Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
This is a nice recipe and a simple easy and nutritious dessert to make. I found adding a little bit of condensed milk gives it a nice taste too along with the sugar. you can adjust the quantities according to how sweet you want it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I substituted dried white raisons and dried cherries. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States