Carrot Raisin Bread or Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
I used in a bread machine (for a 2 pound loaf) by following the general directions: ie: wet ingredients first, dry ingredients next and yeast lastly. result was excellent. One suggestion to make is after the dough has kneaded in the machine, cut off about 100 ml. of dough for the 2 pound machine to ensure it doesn't rise past the lid and adversely affect the baking of the centre top. The bread was moist, flavourful and texture was great. I like this recipe even better than regular raisin bread as it was more moist and flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Great bread! This was a real crowd pleaser and have made it many times since finding the recipe. No changes. No substitutions. It's terrific but best as toast. Thanks and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
Great! Our humidity + locale tend to rise breads higher - we decreased yeast by 1/8-1/4 tsp for perfect results. Just as great that slightest bit "heartier".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
I made half of this recipe, and I made one 8x4 loaf and 3 mini loaves. They turned out great. I think it helped that I added extra spices to this--about 1/4 t. extra cloves and nutmeg too. I also added 2 T. gluten because I made this with half whole wheat flour. I squeezed the excess water out of my carrots because I worried that the extra moisture might throw the wet/dry balance off. I don't know whether it would have or not, but the bread turned out plenty moist and really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
A little unique but VERY GOOD!! I love it. The carrotts and raisins add to the moist texture. A wonderful toast bread. I wonder if I couldn't have squeezed three loaves out of the dough as was a lot of dough there. Made 2 very nice ones. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
The flavor of this bread is fantastic... And the recipe is quite forgiving! Ok maybe I'm getting quite good at bread disaster management. I ambitiously threw this together while cooking dinner and realized while it was "rising" that I had forgotten the yeast!! I read some blogs and I'm definitely not the only one who has done this. I added instant yeast to the dough and kneaded it in thoroughly. It did rise, though unevenly at first, so I decided to give it a long slow rise in the fridge for a few days. My silly yeast-less fiasco had prevented me from being able to finish that night anyway. I chopped the dough into about 15 rolls and let them rise an hour in my oven's proof cycle then baked. They are actually fantastic, lightly sweet and extremely flavorful with a dark crisp crust and moist crumb. When I was throwing the bread together I did plump the raisins in juice for a min in the microwave then dried them a bit. I also added slightly different spices based on what I had. Did I mention that I used almond milk and egg replacer? Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
I'll be honest, I'm not sure exactly what the carrots added. Maybe a little extra sweetness from the natural sugars?... At any rate, the bread is lovely. I only gave it the one rise as a whole lump of dough before separating it into the loaf tins, and it worked fine. I also substituted 3 cups of whole wheat flour for the white. Lovely fragrant bread was the result, with great texture. I highly recommend this recipe to anyone as it is easy to make and produces excellent results. One thing... the instructions skip the step where you add the liquid mixture to the dry ingredients! Not that hard to figure out, but just a wee glitch I noticed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
this does make a good bread, although I have to agree with the reviewers who said it isn't full of flavor. It really isn't, and although it's a nice white bread, there really isnt' much to distinguish it. Maybe more sugar or seasonings would punch it up a bit. Still, it was a good bread for Freezer French Toast this morning, so that works for me. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
I would recommend an egg wash on the loves to give them a nice shine. Mine also made 12 large rolls and a full loaf. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
great texture, pretty neutral taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States