Carrot Raisin Bread or Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
I used in a bread machine (for a 2 pound loaf) by following the general directions: ie: wet ingredients first, dry ingredients next and yeast lastly. result was excellent. One suggestion to make is after the dough has kneaded in the machine, cut off about 100 ml. of dough for the 2 pound machine to ensure it doesn't rise past the lid and adversely affect the baking of the centre top. The bread was moist, flavourful and texture was great. I like this recipe even better than regular raisin bread as it was more moist and flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
I'll be honest, I'm not sure exactly what the carrots added. Maybe a little extra sweetness from the natural sugars?... At any rate, the bread is lovely. I only gave it the one rise as a whole lump of dough before separating it into the loaf tins, and it worked fine. I also substituted 3 cups of whole wheat flour for the white. Lovely fragrant bread was the result, with great texture. I highly recommend this recipe to anyone as it is easy to make and produces excellent results. One thing... the instructions skip the step where you add the liquid mixture to the dry ingredients! Not that hard to figure out, but just a wee glitch I noticed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Great bread! This was a real crowd pleaser and have made it many times since finding the recipe. No changes. No substitutions. It's terrific but best as toast. Thanks and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
I made half of this recipe, and I made one 8x4 loaf and 3 mini loaves. They turned out great. I think it helped that I added extra spices to this--about 1/4 t. extra cloves and nutmeg too. I also added 2 T. gluten because I made this with half whole wheat flour. I squeezed the excess water out of my carrots because I worried that the extra moisture might throw the wet/dry balance off. I don't know whether it would have or not, but the bread turned out plenty moist and really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
great texture, pretty neutral taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
I used half whole wheat flour. This recipe makes a good product, but I didn't find the flavor much different than bread with raisins in it. I will use this as a basic recipe and adjust spices/flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
I would recommend an egg wash on the loves to give them a nice shine. Mine also made 12 large rolls and a full loaf. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
A little unique but VERY GOOD!! I love it. The carrotts and raisins add to the moist texture. A wonderful toast bread. I wonder if I couldn't have squeezed three loaves out of the dough as was a lot of dough there. Made 2 very nice ones. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
Great! Our humidity + locale tend to rise breads higher - we decreased yeast by 1/8-1/4 tsp for perfect results. Just as great that slightest bit "heartier".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I feel pretty bad rating a recipe so low when others have rated it so high, but it really wsn't very good. The recipe has good potential, but no flavor as written. I added chopped figs and walnuts instead of raisins, and that was probably the only thing that saved this from going in the trash can. You can barely taste the spices and it definitely needs more sugar. Also CUT THE RECIPE IN HALF! I cut it in half and it still made a monster loaf. But thanks for the idea, I'll continue to toy with this one. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States