Carrot Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
We have served this recipe, with the addition of a cup of prunes (yes prunes) -- for Christmas for half a century and four generations. This is a perfect pudding to cook in a decorative pudding mold, studded with fresh cranberries and flamed with brandy. After dinner, turn the lights out, flame the pudding at the dinner table with great ceremony, and let a tradition begin. Oh yes, serve with a whipped cream and orange sauce...Divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
2 of 4 of us loved this, the others rated it a 1 hence the 3 rating. Personally i thought it was great without the sauce which i didn't make. A warning: I too used pint jars which I filled 2/3 full and they overflowed. Would recommend filling them less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Keswick, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Love it will be my Christmas tradition Instead of potatoe I used apple then reduced sugar to half a cup, used cinnamon one teaspoon and one teaspoon pumpkin pie spice. So good moist, sauce the same as in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
My Mom first served this to our family in 1956; she got it from a lady she worked with in Marsing, ID. I've been making in for my family since 1969 and we all love it. Sometimes I make it in 16 oz vegetable cans and bake it like bread rather than steaming. It stores nicely in fridge. I like it toasted and spread with cream cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This is the exact same recipe that my grandmother made every year for thanksgiving. It came to America with her English grandmother. Thanks for the canning jars idea! My mom used to steam it in empty shortening cans, but shortening doesn't come in tin cans anymore and I'm not a coffee drinker! I was at a loss as to what to steam it in since I don't have a steamed pudding mold. I haven't had this in a long, long time. I'll have to make it this year. This is also very good with a lemon sauce or hot with ice cream and caramel sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I'd never had carrot pudding and thought I'd give it a try. I didn't have a 1 pound coffee can so I used two 28 oz glass jars and that worked out fine. I didn't realize I didn't have raisens until it was too late so I didn't add those. I gave it four stars because I'm going to have to experiment with the sugar to get the sweetness down to where it's sweet, but not overly sweet. This dessert is VERY RICH and VERY VERY SWEET. Other than that it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Haney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This tasted exactly how I remembered it from my childhood! This is now a favorite of my children, husband, and anyone else who tastes it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Delicious. I made it in 3 pint canning jars in my canning kettle. Hubby loved it. The sauce was delish too and I'll make it to keep in the frig for other desserts as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen W
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I showed this recipe to my Grandma and she has a couple of comments: She adds 1/2 cup softened butter to the mix to help things stick together and she said that you should mix the potatoes and soda together and then add them after mixing the rest of the ingredients--doing this can improve the texture of the puddings. When I made this I doubled everything except the cloves. I also put this in canning jars to steam so it will keep until Christmas. One recipe fits into two pint jars filled 3/4 full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This is my first time making and eating it, absolutely amazing, it is one of my favorite foods now, go Canada!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States