Carrot, Potato, and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by stephy
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Best veg soup ever! The only replacement i did was... That I used fresh parsley and fresh squeezed lemon to serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyhealthcoach
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Good recipe. As most people say, I think it is the perfect soup to modify to your liking and to use up all the veg on the verge of going bad in the fridge. My modifications were: 1. I used leeks instead of onions, baby redskin potatoes with the skin on, added leftover mashed potatoes, multicolored carrots (those cool red, orange and yellow ones) and some apple cider vinegar. 2. I sauteed the leeks and the garlic in olive oil with some cracked black pepper and Celtic sea salt to start. 3. I used a homemade stock for the broth. It is really good, I usually end up mixing about half of it up to get a more satisfying texture. The cabbage can hide better that way, too. Good for a cold, grey day with a little one sick. Crank in that garlic and help fight the germs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
There is absolutely no reason to blend this beautiful soup. It's lovely just the way it is before the blend. I also buy a rotisserie chicken and pull the meat an add to the soup about 30 minutes before its done. Best when summered about an hour to an hour and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
20 minutes flat! So easy, so delicious, how can it be this simple!? I followed the recipe exactly except used fresh herbs instead of dried. Great, yummy, picky 3-year-old couldnt get enough! 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corazon79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Lovely recipe and one from which you can "stray." I used some broccoli and a tiny bit or rosemary. Pureed the broccoli. Really happy to have a dairy free potato soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
so simple, and so good, and got rave reviews from all my dinner guests! I don't know why it calls to be pureed, because having the nice texture of the vegetables was what made it so satisfying. I actually used canned diced potatoes (including the water they're packed in), which hold up really nicely in every recipe I've ever used them in and makes it that much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
New Years requires cabbage....this helps save room for everything else in a tasty way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMCKASUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Hi all - I enjoyed this recipe as well. I sauteed the onions with some butter and oil, and I had some roasted garlic leftover from last night, so I used that. I blended the soup with a little milk. Easy and satisfying!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Warning - modifications ahead but I don't make soup often and really appreciated this as a base and the other reviews. I didn't use any white potato - only sweet and carrots, added a ton more garlic because I love garlic. I sauted the veggies first. Since I removed white potato - I added lentils which just up'd the health factor by a ton! I also love spice so I added chili pepper flakes. AND finally I added Kale at the end again to really increase the nutrients in this dish. Please don't hate me for all my modifications! Take this as a way to modify the dish to your liking. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I think there is a mistake in this recipe! It says to blend until smooth. The picture doesn't show the final product to have benn blended until smooth. Unless they don't really mean smooth. I wound up with more vegetables than liquid so I had to add more of the spices and chicken stock, so that through it off. I guess their definition of medium or large potatoes, carrots, etc. is different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States