Carrot, Potato, and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Easy to make.Good flavor. I blended about 1/2 of the soup after cooking,and added 1 cup of half&half to make it a bit creamier. I'll use low sodium chicken stock next time after seeing the sodium content in the Nutritional data
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandy.A
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
??I added chicken, rice, and only blended about 1/4 of the vegetable mixture. This was very tasty, but had to add a little more salt for taste.. Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
great basic soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cgmgmn
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Second weekend making this! Great to use up carrots from garden. Perfect as is but I did add 1 c celery and 1lb Polska kielbasa sausage and we really like it with the meat. I did not blend it and did saute all of the veggies in about 1 c chicken broth and olive oil before adding remaining broth and herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I had some leftover cabbage and my family is not very fond of that vegetable so I was happy to find a soup recipe where I could "hide" it. I took some other reviews rec's about sauteeing the veggies; since we were adding olive oil anyway it seemed to make sense to do a quick sautee to bring out the flavors of the garlic and onion then dump everything else in. The results were great - a quick, easy soup made up of items I usually have on hand. It's light, healthy and delicious. Can't ask for more than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This soup was good as written and it is a good way to get some more veg in your diet. I thought it tasted a bit too "cabbagey" as it seemed to overwhelm the other flavors. Next time I will try this recipe without the cabbage. But this is the beauty of this recipe, you can pretty much make this with any vegetable and herbs you prefer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Nice and healthy soup. I replaced the cabbage with celery as I didn't have any cabbage in hand, and added some chili as I prefer spicy soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarek Essam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Plater
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
It turned out absolutely wonderful!! I chopped all the veggies and let them sweat in the soup pan for about 10 minutes before I added the broth. The sweat really blends the flavor of the veggies quite nicely. I actually used terragon and oregano for the herbs since they were on hand and threw in some white pepper for a bit of added warmth. In my opinion white pepper is a better choice for soups such as this. PS If you've got a Ninja, this soup is even quicker yet!! I heart my Ninja.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Plater

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This was really good! I skipped the puree part as my husband and I prefer chunky hearty soups. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Delicious soup..I followed the recipe to the T except for I sauteed the veggies before adding the broth to develop their flavor more..It's easy to make,super healthy and fresh.Make sure you use decent carrots else the flavor will differ.I've been eating it without blending but the last bit i did blend,and it was super.Must try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States