Carrot, Potato, and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Nice and healthy soup. I replaced the cabbage with celery as I didn't have any cabbage in hand, and added some chili as I prefer spicy soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarek Essam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
i fell in love with cabbage soup when i spent some time in russia, and this one's pretty good. (also dirt cheap!) to make it truly great, ADD SOUR CREAM on top. i made mine vegetarian by juicing the other half of the cabbage and half a bunch of celery (made about 2 c. liquid) and using water for the rest of the 6 cups. needs a bit extra salt this way, but nutritious and flavorful. took about 5 hours on high in my crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Plater
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
It turned out absolutely wonderful!! I chopped all the veggies and let them sweat in the soup pan for about 10 minutes before I added the broth. The sweat really blends the flavor of the veggies quite nicely. I actually used terragon and oregano for the herbs since they were on hand and threw in some white pepper for a bit of added warmth. In my opinion white pepper is a better choice for soups such as this. PS If you've got a Ninja, this soup is even quicker yet!! I heart my Ninja.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Plater

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This was really good! I skipped the puree part as my husband and I prefer chunky hearty soups. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Delicious soup..I followed the recipe to the T except for I sauteed the veggies before adding the broth to develop their flavor more..It's easy to make,super healthy and fresh.Make sure you use decent carrots else the flavor will differ.I've been eating it without blending but the last bit i did blend,and it was super.Must try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is the 4th time in 2 weeks that I am making this recipe. I love it for so many reasons: it's fulfilling, affordable, easy to make, and great to freeze/and or bring to work for leftovers. My roommate (who doesn't like cabbage even gobbled this up). I did add a little garlic powder and white pepper, but the recipe is so versatile that you could add anything to your own preference. By the way, I haven't even tried it pureed. It's great as it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdg2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Quite good. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stephy
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Best veg soup ever! The only replacement i did was... That I used fresh parsley and fresh squeezed lemon to serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyhealthcoach
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Good recipe. As most people say, I think it is the perfect soup to modify to your liking and to use up all the veg on the verge of going bad in the fridge. My modifications were: 1. I used leeks instead of onions, baby redskin potatoes with the skin on, added leftover mashed potatoes, multicolored carrots (those cool red, orange and yellow ones) and some apple cider vinegar. 2. I sauteed the leeks and the garlic in olive oil with some cracked black pepper and Celtic sea salt to start. 3. I used a homemade stock for the broth. It is really good, I usually end up mixing about half of it up to get a more satisfying texture. The cabbage can hide better that way, too. Good for a cold, grey day with a little one sick. Crank in that garlic and help fight the germs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
There is absolutely no reason to blend this beautiful soup. It's lovely just the way it is before the blend. I also buy a rotisserie chicken and pull the meat an add to the soup about 30 minutes before its done. Best when summered about an hour to an hour and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States