Carrot, Potato, and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I had some leftover cabbage and my family is not very fond of that vegetable so I was happy to find a soup recipe where I could "hide" it. I took some other reviews rec's about sauteeing the veggies; since we were adding olive oil anyway it seemed to make sense to do a quick sautee to bring out the flavors of the garlic and onion then dump everything else in. The results were great - a quick, easy soup made up of items I usually have on hand. It's light, healthy and delicious. Can't ask for more than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This soup was good as written and it is a good way to get some more veg in your diet. I thought it tasted a bit too "cabbagey" as it seemed to overwhelm the other flavors. Next time I will try this recipe without the cabbage. But this is the beauty of this recipe, you can pretty much make this with any vegetable and herbs you prefer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Nice and healthy soup. I replaced the cabbage with celery as I didn't have any cabbage in hand, and added some chili as I prefer spicy soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarek Essam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
i fell in love with cabbage soup when i spent some time in russia, and this one's pretty good. (also dirt cheap!) to make it truly great, ADD SOUR CREAM on top. i made mine vegetarian by juicing the other half of the cabbage and half a bunch of celery (made about 2 c. liquid) and using water for the rest of the 6 cups. needs a bit extra salt this way, but nutritious and flavorful. took about 5 hours on high in my crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Plater
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
It turned out absolutely wonderful!! I chopped all the veggies and let them sweat in the soup pan for about 10 minutes before I added the broth. The sweat really blends the flavor of the veggies quite nicely. I actually used terragon and oregano for the herbs since they were on hand and threw in some white pepper for a bit of added warmth. In my opinion white pepper is a better choice for soups such as this. PS If you've got a Ninja, this soup is even quicker yet!! I heart my Ninja.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Plater

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This was really good! I skipped the puree part as my husband and I prefer chunky hearty soups. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Delicious soup..I followed the recipe to the T except for I sauteed the veggies before adding the broth to develop their flavor more..It's easy to make,super healthy and fresh.Make sure you use decent carrots else the flavor will differ.I've been eating it without blending but the last bit i did blend,and it was super.Must try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is the 4th time in 2 weeks that I am making this recipe. I love it for so many reasons: it's fulfilling, affordable, easy to make, and great to freeze/and or bring to work for leftovers. My roommate (who doesn't like cabbage even gobbled this up). I did add a little garlic powder and white pepper, but the recipe is so versatile that you could add anything to your own preference. By the way, I haven't even tried it pureed. It's great as it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdg2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Quite good. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stephy
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Best veg soup ever! The only replacement i did was... That I used fresh parsley and fresh squeezed lemon to serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States