Carrot, Potato, and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Don't blend this beautiful soup! This is the second time making it. Amazing soup. I don't blend the soup and I add more potatoes and it comes out so delicious. I use canned chicken broth low sodium. One of these days I am going to make my own chicken broth and then make this soup. This soup is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I loved this soup! I made it in less than 30 minutes right after work and before heading out to the gym. Light, healthy, filling, and really delicious! Even better the next day when I reheated for a nourishing lunch. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Buns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I't a week before Christmas 2012. I saw this recipe a few days ago and tonight is my first try. The recipe by itself is ready to go but looking at the reviews it lends itself to adding extras. As mentioned it's the end of December in South Idaho, we have had heavy rain and the ground is saturated and low temps in the 30's. Important, yep! I went out and cut fresh cabbage, both green and red, dug carrots and brought in potatoes from the garden that are in storage. I started with a 14 quart kettle. I cut up 2 cabbages, added about two quarts of potatoes and 2 quarts of carrots. After adding the onion the contents were sitting about 2 inches above the top of the container. I then started to adlib the parsley flakes, basil, pepper, thyme, almost forgot the olive oil, threw in a splash of raw viniger (after reading reviews people were putting in anything they wanted) and that's where I got the splash of vinegar. I added tarragon and cumin. 4 sixteen ounce cans of broth did not come close to the right amount of liquid so I added 3 more cubes of chicken bullion and 6 or 8 cups water until I could see it through the vegies. After cooking a few minutes the volume dropped in the pan so added another head of cabbage, this time the red one and I was on my way. After bringing to boil and then simmer 45 mins was all it took. Prepping carrots, cabbage and potatoes was almost 2 hours but it has been fun, especially using December goods fresh from the garden, but, I forgot the Salt!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Since I'm going to the bother of slicing/dicing potatoes and carrots and onions, I decided I might as well increase the flavour of this soup by 50% by sauteing or sweating them. I skipped the salt and added a nice dash of hot sauce (could use a sprinkling of cayenne or hot pepper flakes). I like to have some small chunks, so I mash the cooked soup with a potato masher instead of using the blender, which is always a messy job. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montrealer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This soup was very tasty! I'm always pleased when I try a recipe and I don't have to make a whole bunch of tweaks to it to get it to taste good. I pretty much left the recipe as is except I sautéed the onion, carrot, garlic and cabbage in 1 1/2 tbsp olive oil before adding it to the soup and then I left it chunky. I seriously doubt if I will get my kids to eat this but I'm perfectly happy to gobble it all up myself. I don't think it takes quite as long to prep as the recipe says. The chopping went quickly (although I did use pre-diced onions) and the sautéing was pretty hands off. Once I got it in the skillet, I only stirred every so often because I wanted the veggies to start to carmelize. I used medium heat and a heavy, cast iron skillet so I was able to do other things during this part of the prep. Overall, a keeper that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
not only does taste great, but it is also very easy to make AND easy on the wallet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsroses

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I may have followed this receipe too loosely since I needed to use an entire head of cabbage from my CSA. I basically tripled the receipe and thought the taste was pretty bland. I did not find this receipe "easy" since it was fairly time-consuming to slice all the cabbage and vegetable and then blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I love this recipe! Its so easy to make and even somewhat good for you. I've made it twice so far and loved it both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Louise Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Demotte, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
My kids loved it and I did as well. No changes needed although we did sprinkle a little mozzerella cheese on top for good measure! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manheim, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This soup goes over very well in our house, even with 4 picky eaters. The first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly. Delicious. My husband had me set aside a serving for him that was not blended to compare and he prefers it unblended. In the subsequent times I have prepared this recipe I have added whatever vegetables we happen to have in the produce drawer that were on their way out. It has been delicious every time. We typically shred everything instead of slicing them and I don't blend it for the first night, but I do blend the leftovers before I freeze them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by triciav1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States