Carrot, Potato, and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This recipe is surprisingly good, despite the basic ingredients. I thought there wasn't enough spices, and so included about 1/2 tsp each thyme and basil, and it turned out great. I think following the recipe would have been just fine also. I used no salt epicure broth and 1 tsp salt as per recipe, which was plenty. I added some buffalo sausage that complimented the flavours well. Like many others we didn't bother blending it. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Perfect for tackling the CSA box. Used potato and kohlrabi, roughly half and half. Only other adjustment was using vegetable broth instead of chicken because I wanted to share leftovers with my vegetarian friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Very good and very easy. I threw in some sliced mushrooms and leftover rotisserie chicken, didn't follow the receipe very closely, and it still turned out great. I would agree with the other reviews, a little thyme goes a long way. Next time I will only put in half of what is called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I was looking for something to make with a bag of pre cut cabbage that I had on hand and I came across this soup. I used 8 cups of vegetable stock, powdered thyme, and about 2 tsps of parsley (no other herbs). Definitely saute the vegetables first in a bit of olive oil and butter if you like. The increase in flavor makes it very worth while. I pureed about 3-4 cups of the soup which gave the soup some additional flavor and added body but still left the fun chunky pieces to eat. This is what I would do again the next time. If you aren't worried crazy about calories, right before you take the soup off the heat, swirl in about 2-3 tablespoons of butter which will give the soup a great sheen and flavor. Great soup to serve with Irish Soda Bread on a cold March day. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This is a tasty soup, I love the consistency. Next time I will add either bacon or sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This was a very good soup. Added cut up kielbasa the second time around. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Very easy and very, very yummy. In fact, I could add very after very it was so good. I added a half pound of sausage since my husband gets huffy at vegetarian meals and I didn't bother to blend it. We aren't soup fans either, but I had leftover cabbage and thought I would try something different. This was perfect especailly since half of our family has colds right now. I highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This was nice, quick and healthy. Not fantastic. I added salt as well as nutmeg, but there was still something missing. It fit the bill for my meatless Monday just fine, with salad, apples, bread and cheese to accompany.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Don't blend this beautiful soup! This is the second time making it. Amazing soup. I don't blend the soup and I add more potatoes and it comes out so delicious. I use canned chicken broth low sodium. One of these days I am going to make my own chicken broth and then make this soup. This soup is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I loved this soup! I made it in less than 30 minutes right after work and before heading out to the gym. Light, healthy, filling, and really delicious! Even better the next day when I reheated for a nourishing lunch. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Buns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States