Carrot, Potato, and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
very good. I made some modifications to make this a vegetarian main meal. firstly, i fried all the vegetables in the olive oil till tender, then I added 1tablespoon apple cider vinegar and 1 teaspoon sugar with vegetable stock instead of chicken stock. I just mashed all the vegetables together instead of blending and added a small can of baked beans in tomato sauce for protein. I also made dumplings and allowed them to simmer for 20minutes as per recipe. healthy and filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Made it with red cabbage and it turned a pretty purplish color. Used vegetable broth base. Blended about 2 or 3 cups and mixed back into soup. Husband loved it. I also added couple bay leaves. Next time thinking of adding more potato and use green cabbage instead:) I served it with cornbread and family ate it up:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Excellent soup! I had field onions, carrots, potatoes and cabbage in my local market share bag this week, so this recipe was exactly what I needed! My one and only addition was some leftover roasted corn that I cut off the cob. This would be equally as good made with vegetable stock. All that's needed for a delicious meal is a pan of cornbread or a crusty Italian bread. Make sure you freeze some for the upcoming cold/flu season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Wow didn't think this would turn out tasting as good as it did. 5 stars for taste, simplicity, and low calories and forgiveness. Didn't use exact measurements, winged it but came out tasting great. Next time might sub cooked white rice instead of potatoes or do both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
We loved this soup. I will definitely make it again. I did make a few changes to accommodate our needs. I skipped the onion and substituted celery. My husband is allergic to onions so this is not a recipe complaint but a health issue. I also added smoked sausage. The reason I gave this recipe only 4 stars is because it has no protein. Without protein it isn't a complete meal. It really only serves as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYAWOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This is super easy, super quick and very inexpensive to make. I did not have any basil...don't know how that happened but I was out so I used a touch more tyhme and it was good! I would make it again. Very filling. Mild in flavor and I blended half of the soup. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RatherBeCooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This recipe is surprisingly good, despite the basic ingredients. I thought there wasn't enough spices, and so included about 1/2 tsp each thyme and basil, and it turned out great. I think following the recipe would have been just fine also. I used no salt epicure broth and 1 tsp salt as per recipe, which was plenty. I added some buffalo sausage that complimented the flavours well. Like many others we didn't bother blending it. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Perfect for tackling the CSA box. Used potato and kohlrabi, roughly half and half. Only other adjustment was using vegetable broth instead of chicken because I wanted to share leftovers with my vegetarian friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Very good and very easy. I threw in some sliced mushrooms and leftover rotisserie chicken, didn't follow the receipe very closely, and it still turned out great. I would agree with the other reviews, a little thyme goes a long way. Next time I will only put in half of what is called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I was looking for something to make with a bag of pre cut cabbage that I had on hand and I came across this soup. I used 8 cups of vegetable stock, powdered thyme, and about 2 tsps of parsley (no other herbs). Definitely saute the vegetables first in a bit of olive oil and butter if you like. The increase in flavor makes it very worth while. I pureed about 3-4 cups of the soup which gave the soup some additional flavor and added body but still left the fun chunky pieces to eat. This is what I would do again the next time. If you aren't worried crazy about calories, right before you take the soup off the heat, swirl in about 2-3 tablespoons of butter which will give the soup a great sheen and flavor. Great soup to serve with Irish Soda Bread on a cold March day. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States