Carrot, Potato, and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Very good and very easy. I threw in some sliced mushrooms and leftover rotisserie chicken, didn't follow the receipe very closely, and it still turned out great. I would agree with the other reviews, a little thyme goes a long way. Next time I will only put in half of what is called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I was looking for something to make with a bag of pre cut cabbage that I had on hand and I came across this soup. I used 8 cups of vegetable stock, powdered thyme, and about 2 tsps of parsley (no other herbs). Definitely saute the vegetables first in a bit of olive oil and butter if you like. The increase in flavor makes it very worth while. I pureed about 3-4 cups of the soup which gave the soup some additional flavor and added body but still left the fun chunky pieces to eat. This is what I would do again the next time. If you aren't worried crazy about calories, right before you take the soup off the heat, swirl in about 2-3 tablespoons of butter which will give the soup a great sheen and flavor. Great soup to serve with Irish Soda Bread on a cold March day. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This is a tasty soup, I love the consistency. Next time I will add either bacon or sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This was a very good soup. Added cut up kielbasa the second time around. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Very easy and very, very yummy. In fact, I could add very after very it was so good. I added a half pound of sausage since my husband gets huffy at vegetarian meals and I didn't bother to blend it. We aren't soup fans either, but I had leftover cabbage and thought I would try something different. This was perfect especailly since half of our family has colds right now. I highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This was nice, quick and healthy. Not fantastic. I added salt as well as nutmeg, but there was still something missing. It fit the bill for my meatless Monday just fine, with salad, apples, bread and cheese to accompany.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Don't blend this beautiful soup! This is the second time making it. Amazing soup. I don't blend the soup and I add more potatoes and it comes out so delicious. I use canned chicken broth low sodium. One of these days I am going to make my own chicken broth and then make this soup. This soup is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I loved this soup! I made it in less than 30 minutes right after work and before heading out to the gym. Light, healthy, filling, and really delicious! Even better the next day when I reheated for a nourishing lunch. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Buns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I't a week before Christmas 2012. I saw this recipe a few days ago and tonight is my first try. The recipe by itself is ready to go but looking at the reviews it lends itself to adding extras. As mentioned it's the end of December in South Idaho, we have had heavy rain and the ground is saturated and low temps in the 30's. Important, yep! I went out and cut fresh cabbage, both green and red, dug carrots and brought in potatoes from the garden that are in storage. I started with a 14 quart kettle. I cut up 2 cabbages, added about two quarts of potatoes and 2 quarts of carrots. After adding the onion the contents were sitting about 2 inches above the top of the container. I then started to adlib the parsley flakes, basil, pepper, thyme, almost forgot the olive oil, threw in a splash of raw viniger (after reading reviews people were putting in anything they wanted) and that's where I got the splash of vinegar. I added tarragon and cumin. 4 sixteen ounce cans of broth did not come close to the right amount of liquid so I added 3 more cubes of chicken bullion and 6 or 8 cups water until I could see it through the vegies. After cooking a few minutes the volume dropped in the pan so added another head of cabbage, this time the red one and I was on my way. After bringing to boil and then simmer 45 mins was all it took. Prepping carrots, cabbage and potatoes was almost 2 hours but it has been fun, especially using December goods fresh from the garden, but, I forgot the Salt!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Since I'm going to the bother of slicing/dicing potatoes and carrots and onions, I decided I might as well increase the flavour of this soup by 50% by sauteing or sweating them. I skipped the salt and added a nice dash of hot sauce (could use a sprinkling of cayenne or hot pepper flakes). I like to have some small chunks, so I mash the cooked soup with a potato masher instead of using the blender, which is always a messy job. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montrealer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States