Carrot, Potato, and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
New Years requires cabbage....this helps save room for everything else in a tasty way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMCKASUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Hi all - I enjoyed this recipe as well. I sauteed the onions with some butter and oil, and I had some roasted garlic leftover from last night, so I used that. I blended the soup with a little milk. Easy and satisfying!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Warning - modifications ahead but I don't make soup often and really appreciated this as a base and the other reviews. I didn't use any white potato - only sweet and carrots, added a ton more garlic because I love garlic. I sauted the veggies first. Since I removed white potato - I added lentils which just up'd the health factor by a ton! I also love spice so I added chili pepper flakes. AND finally I added Kale at the end again to really increase the nutrients in this dish. Please don't hate me for all my modifications! Take this as a way to modify the dish to your liking. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I think there is a mistake in this recipe! It says to blend until smooth. The picture doesn't show the final product to have benn blended until smooth. Unless they don't really mean smooth. I wound up with more vegetables than liquid so I had to add more of the spices and chicken stock, so that through it off. I guess their definition of medium or large potatoes, carrots, etc. is different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I will definitely be making this recipe again. I'm vegetarian so I used vegetable bullion. I'm also not a fan of thyme so I just didn't add it, I didn't have any basil either. I didn't blend it because I like my soup chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
very good. I made some modifications to make this a vegetarian main meal. firstly, i fried all the vegetables in the olive oil till tender, then I added 1tablespoon apple cider vinegar and 1 teaspoon sugar with vegetable stock instead of chicken stock. I just mashed all the vegetables together instead of blending and added a small can of baked beans in tomato sauce for protein. I also made dumplings and allowed them to simmer for 20minutes as per recipe. healthy and filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Made it with red cabbage and it turned a pretty purplish color. Used vegetable broth base. Blended about 2 or 3 cups and mixed back into soup. Husband loved it. I also added couple bay leaves. Next time thinking of adding more potato and use green cabbage instead:) I served it with cornbread and family ate it up:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Excellent soup! I had field onions, carrots, potatoes and cabbage in my local market share bag this week, so this recipe was exactly what I needed! My one and only addition was some leftover roasted corn that I cut off the cob. This would be equally as good made with vegetable stock. All that's needed for a delicious meal is a pan of cornbread or a crusty Italian bread. Make sure you freeze some for the upcoming cold/flu season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Wow didn't think this would turn out tasting as good as it did. 5 stars for taste, simplicity, and low calories and forgiveness. Didn't use exact measurements, winged it but came out tasting great. Next time might sub cooked white rice instead of potatoes or do both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
We loved this soup. I will definitely make it again. I did make a few changes to accommodate our needs. I skipped the onion and substituted celery. My husband is allergic to onions so this is not a recipe complaint but a health issue. I also added smoked sausage. The reason I gave this recipe only 4 stars is because it has no protein. Without protein it isn't a complete meal. It really only serves as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYAWOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States