Carrot Pineapple Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I made these yesterday with some healthy substitutions! I used unsweetened applesauce for the oil, whole wheat pastry flour for regular flour, 1/2 c white, 1/2 c brown sugar, and added some allspice. They were so moist and delicious!! I also only used about 2 1/2 cups of confectioners sugar in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grottoes, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Very nice. I followed other reviewers advice and made only 3/4 of the frosting, yet I still had heaps left over. Next time, I will only make half of the amount of frosting. We ate all 12 cupcakes within 8 hours...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
After reading some of the reviews, I felt compelled to make some additions to the recipe. I followed the recipe as is, but added 1/2 tsp of ginger, allspice and nutmeg each. Came out very flavorful, fluffy, and light. Loved them. Made samples to take to work with me. These just might be the cupcakes for Easter we've been looking for!!! Thanks urbansunshine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aljeromeh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This recipe was good but not great. Admittedly, I made a couple of mods: instead of oil I subbed an equal amount of pineapple juice which made it deliciously moist but baking time needed to be adjusted. I also used light brown sugar instead of white. Finally, and this was just my error as I misread the recipe, I used 2 cups of finely shredded carrot instead of 1 cup. The result was an ultramoist cake, really fluffy too. But it lacked the spice that typifies a carrot cake IMO, and I even added a bit of powdered ginger to it. I was surprised it lacked nuts and/or raisins but I figured maybe the taste would be so good that they wouldn't be missed. Not so. And I'm not the "Paula Deen" type of baker who thinks everything can be made to taste good with a ton of sugar and/or butter/oil. Kinda bummed. At any rate, the recipe wasn't bad but if you like a moderately to strongly spiced carrot cake then this recipe isn't for you. I don't know that I would try this recipe again but if I did it would be so heavily modified that it wouldn't be the same recipe anymore. Also, if anyone is curious, all that added moisture did not ruin the cakey-ness--it was just not a dry cake at all. They also weren't too sweet, but they did have an extra carrot-y flavor due to my error but still tasty. But like I saw another reviewer mentioned, they didn't rise particularly well. If you're okay with flat cupcake tops and the lack of texture and spice, then by all means try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I think this would be a great cupcake for a kids b-day party or just a nice way to top off the evening!! ;) Great job!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellie1000
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Great recipe!! cake is super moist and delicious. I cut the sugar in half and used whole wheat flour and apple sauce and added walnuts. It turned out awesome!! The sweetness of the pineapple and the carrots makes up for the less sugar. It can actually pass for a "healthy" treat!! I don't think it even needs the frosting... but wants it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
These were good and my kids would not stop eating them. We didn't use icing either, just ate them plain as muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
These cupcakes are heavenly! I was trying NOT to eat one and save them for the party I'm taking them to, but messed up the top of one, so I made the sacrifice of eating it, and by golly, even without frosting these are delightful!!! I will say, though, I added golden raisins and walnuts, but that's just a personal preference. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I was craving carrot cake but was out of several items called for in my recipe (brown sugar, nuts, coconut, raisins) so, using the ingredient search feature, I found this. It made 16 nice sized cupcakes, very moist and tasty. I did not need the milk in the frosting. Next time I think I'll up the cinnamon a little and only make 3/4 recipe of frosting, because there is so much left over. What to do, what to do with the left over frosting And not a naked graham cracker in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Absolutely love these. I use fresh pineapple as I have access to it all the time here in Nicaragua. I just squeeze out the juice. They are VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States