Carrot Pineapple Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I have a carrot cake recipe I've used for 29 years and I make it every year for my sons b-day because it's his very flavorite. But I'm always looking for new things to add and I was excited to try this since I love carrot cake and I love pineapple. I thought it would be moist and have a great flavor. I was really disappointed. This was the thickest cake batter I've ever made. I baked in 2-8" round cake pans at 325 convection. I knew I'd have to adjust the time so I set my initial timer to 50 minutes. I checked the cake at 20 min and it had risen really beautifully so I was really looking happy with it. At 40 minutes, the top of the cake was almost burnt, the cake had fallen in the center and the insides were still very wet. It just didnt look good or appetizing. The range was here when we bought the house 2 years ago and we have found that the oven is actually about 25 degrees off. Setting at 325 in actuality is 300 for our oven etc.... I turned the temp down another 25 degrees to try to get the cake to quit getting dark and to give the insides a chance to finish baking. At 50 minutes the toothpick came out almost perfectly clean so I pulled it. After letting it cool a bit I tried to turn the cake out onto cooling racks to finish the process. Both cakes fell apart. The cake is really dense and heavy and the top, bottom and sides are all very dry. I think the creator needs to hone this recipe a bit and give it another try. Somethings off here. Not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehall, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovelyfawn
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
A FANTASTIC CARROT CAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovelyfawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
The taste is lovely, but I had to leave it in the oven for 1h 20mins before it cooked through. Tried making it twice and both times it just didn't work out. This one is not for me I'm afraid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Philipsburg, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
THIS CAKE WAS VERY DENSE AND DRY. IT HAD A CRUSTY EDGE EVEN AT LOWEST COOK TIME. THE BATTER ROSE ENOUGH TO GO OVER PAN EDGE AND BAKE CRUSTY. I MADE IT FOR BIRTHDAY PARTY AND WAS NOT PLEASED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
found this a lovely and easy cake to make. It was my first tome adding pineapple to a carrot cake, I was very impressed, my only alterations were I added hazlenuts instead of walnuts, also I added half a cup of pineapple and half a cup of cherries. I found this a bit too sweet for my taste but my son and mother adored it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fiona G

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wexford, County Wexford, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I made this for my husband's birthday and it was a really dense cake. I followed the instructions, but added nutmeg as well. The cake was solid and not soft. It had good flavor, but perhaps the writer left something out in the ingredients. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
tried to half this recipe since i only wanted one cake, and ended up with way too little batter. turned out more like carrot cake bars. was done in around 30 minutes. next time i will use the full recipe to fill ONE pan. taste was pretty good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States