Carrot Pineapple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Collette M.
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I made this cake for Easter and it was delicious! By far the best carrot cake I've had and like everyone said, moist and hard to mess up. I read lots of reviews and used a few suggestions like cutting down on the sugar a bit and adding the golden raisins and used 1/2 c applesause in place of 1/2 c oil. I also used a little less coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Very, very good! It was gone very quickly. My daughter decided to take some to the neighbors and they were thrilled. My husband was not so thrilled with the fact that the rest of the cake was gone. It was moist, not too oily, and good. The changes I made were minor: using pecans instead of walnuts and adding vanilla to the frosting. I would add golden raisins soaked in milk and vanilla next time, but I really like raisins in my carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Delicious!! I realized Easter morning I was out of vegetable oil, so I substituted with all applesauce and a teeny bit of olive oil. The cake was stunning to look at and even better to eat. The cream cheese frosting complimented it perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeeSweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I made this recipe for Easter and it was a huge hit. Since I'd never made a carrot cake before, I followed the recipe exactly. The only change I would make is to use a round pan or perhaps a Bundt pan, because the 9 x 13 just isn't pretty enough for this absolutely delicious cake. I will definitely make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Very moist and delicious! I added an additional (8ounce) can of crushed pineapple. I would even consider adding double of this as well to taste more of the pineapple next time. It is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCPHILLIPS
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This cake is no fail, and a grand slam. I omitted half of the coconut and replaced with apple juice soaked black raisins. I also put in a bit more pineapple, and added the pineapple juice to the frosting. And one final ingredient change - had no walnuts, so I used pecans. I baked it in my 10 x 14 clay baking pan, cut it in half, and stacked the layers with frosting in between (I made a double batch of frosting) Everyone raved and were amazed. So so so good. I'm making it this weekend for a wedding shower and have already told the guests to save room :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I made this cake last night for dessert for Easter dinner. Everyone said it was delicious, but three in particular said that this was the best carrot cake they've ever had! Now that is a statement you want to hear!I plan on keeping this one and making it again really soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
The cake is great but the frosting is too sweet. I'll put only half the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Excellent Recipe! Great for bake sales and potlucks....or anytime! I followed the recipe for the cake but changed the frosting. I do not like the sickening sweet typical cream cheese frosting, it over powers a good cake. I made it this way and had a lighter version of the frosting: 1 - 8oz cream cheese, 1/4 cup butter, creamed. Add 1/2 cup powdered sugar, 1 tsp vanilla. Cream. Add 2 Tbl. milk to make it creamy and light and up to another 1/2 cup powdered sugar to a desired consistancy and sweetness. To finish, I added 1 tsp. orange zest for a surprise element that is very complimentary!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This recipe is awesome! I was making this for Easter and was going to be celebrating with 2 families so I decided to make cupcakes instead. They turned out great! So moist and delicious! The only thing I changed (only because I didn't have the ingredients in the house) were I used Extra Virgin Olive Oil instead of vegetable oil and I used Sea Salt instead of regular salt. I will definitly save this recipe :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States