Carrot Pineapple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Very moist and delicious! I added an additional (8ounce) can of crushed pineapple. I would even consider adding double of this as well to taste more of the pineapple next time. It is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This cake is no fail, and a grand slam. I omitted half of the coconut and replaced with apple juice soaked black raisins. I also put in a bit more pineapple, and added the pineapple juice to the frosting. And one final ingredient change - had no walnuts, so I used pecans. I baked it in my 10 x 14 clay baking pan, cut it in half, and stacked the layers with frosting in between (I made a double batch of frosting) Everyone raved and were amazed. So so so good. I'm making it this weekend for a wedding shower and have already told the guests to save room :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I made this cake last night for dessert for Easter dinner. Everyone said it was delicious, but three in particular said that this was the best carrot cake they've ever had! Now that is a statement you want to hear!I plan on keeping this one and making it again really soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
The cake is great but the frosting is too sweet. I'll put only half the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Excellent Recipe! Great for bake sales and potlucks....or anytime! I followed the recipe for the cake but changed the frosting. I do not like the sickening sweet typical cream cheese frosting, it over powers a good cake. I made it this way and had a lighter version of the frosting: 1 - 8oz cream cheese, 1/4 cup butter, creamed. Add 1/2 cup powdered sugar, 1 tsp vanilla. Cream. Add 2 Tbl. milk to make it creamy and light and up to another 1/2 cup powdered sugar to a desired consistancy and sweetness. To finish, I added 1 tsp. orange zest for a surprise element that is very complimentary!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This recipe is awesome! I was making this for Easter and was going to be celebrating with 2 families so I decided to make cupcakes instead. They turned out great! So moist and delicious! The only thing I changed (only because I didn't have the ingredients in the house) were I used Extra Virgin Olive Oil instead of vegetable oil and I used Sea Salt instead of regular salt. I will definitly save this recipe :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Excellent! I followed other suggestions subbing 1/2 applesauce & 1/2 oil and used 2 c. cake flour instead of AP. Baked 6 standard cupcakes for 25 mins and the remaining in a bundt pan for approx. 45 mins. Used the cream cheese frosting recipe provided and added just a pinch of Korintje cinnamon for added flavor. Since it was a bundt cake I sliced it in half, frosted the middle, replaced the top and applied another layer of frosting before topping it all off with crushed walnuts. The cake is very dense, moist and absolutely delicious. I made this as a test run for Easter dinner and it has definitely made the cut, no pun intended! Thank you for another great Holiday or anytime recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This is fabulous. I changed a few things but am certain it would be just as tasty as written. (a) 1 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup brown. (b) 1/3 cup appliesauce and 2/3 cup oil. (c) 3 cups shredded carrots. (d) 20 oz can pineapple drained well. (e) sprinkled chopped pecans on top after frosting, rather than putting nuts in the cake -- just because I forgot to put them in, but I think this is how I will do it from now on. (f) Baked in two round tins for a two layer cake rather than a 9 x 13. Reduced baking time by about 10 minutes (but do the toothpick test). This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I made this cake a couple of days ago...My husband and I LOVED it...We love the fact it is loaded with fruits and each bite has a unique flavor :) ...The only changes I made was using applesauce instead of oil and home-made carrot jam instead of carrots and half the amount of the sugar...Thank you Linda for the wonderful cake...Will surely make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
A really moist cake and a true tasting old time carrot type cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOUGHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States