Carrot Pineapple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Excellent! I followed other suggestions subbing 1/2 applesauce & 1/2 oil and used 2 c. cake flour instead of AP. Baked 6 standard cupcakes for 25 mins and the remaining in a bundt pan for approx. 45 mins. Used the cream cheese frosting recipe provided and added just a pinch of Korintje cinnamon for added flavor. Since it was a bundt cake I sliced it in half, frosted the middle, replaced the top and applied another layer of frosting before topping it all off with crushed walnuts. The cake is very dense, moist and absolutely delicious. I made this as a test run for Easter dinner and it has definitely made the cut, no pun intended! Thank you for another great Holiday or anytime recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This is fabulous. I changed a few things but am certain it would be just as tasty as written. (a) 1 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup brown. (b) 1/3 cup appliesauce and 2/3 cup oil. (c) 3 cups shredded carrots. (d) 20 oz can pineapple drained well. (e) sprinkled chopped pecans on top after frosting, rather than putting nuts in the cake -- just because I forgot to put them in, but I think this is how I will do it from now on. (f) Baked in two round tins for a two layer cake rather than a 9 x 13. Reduced baking time by about 10 minutes (but do the toothpick test). This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I made this cake a couple of days ago...My husband and I LOVED it...We love the fact it is loaded with fruits and each bite has a unique flavor :) ...The only changes I made was using applesauce instead of oil and home-made carrot jam instead of carrots and half the amount of the sugar...Thank you Linda for the wonderful cake...Will surely make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
A really moist cake and a true tasting old time carrot type cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOUGHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This was absolutely AMAZING!!! Great recipe!!! Yum! Cant wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I thought it was okay, but my boyfriend didn't like it. I guess it's personal preference. Were more cheesecake people then carrot cake. But if your a carrot cake lover you'll prolly like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
this is guten und easy recipe, I like raisins en nuts en mine so i added 1 cup raisoins softened in hot water,and nuts which are so expensive now,used a 20oz can of pineapple and chopped up the chunks,on the icing I used 2 8oz cream cheese 1/3/4 cups sugar had to use blender to make a sub for powdered zugar,also vanilla in it.so i like dis wun.oh und also added nutmeg and ginger ground. also use coconut oil (virgin cold pressed not refined or processed. it gives a wonderful flavor and is quite a good nutrient source.I use it in my chocolate fresh or frozen cherry upside down cake and it gives such a flavor to the chocolate i sent it to the state tasters and they said they didnt do tastings.I said then what do you do? they said they smell instead of taste,I said soemthing smells fishy at tasters office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natasha376

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This was by far the best carrot cake I ever tried. So moist and not too sweet. I will definitely keep this one in my recipe archives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
OMG - This cake is REALLY good. Very moist. I still have 2 slices left after 3 days & it's still very moist. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I just made is recipe, and it is so amazing! I did change a couple of things, I only did 2 eggs a 1/2 cup oil, and 1/4 cup gerber natural applesauce! And it is so moist and delicious! Definitely will be making this again! I wanted to add that I did not frost it and it was perfect just as is!! Thank-YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States