Carrot Pineapple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Delicious!! I realized Easter morning I was out of vegetable oil, so I substituted with all applesauce and a teeny bit of olive oil. The cake was stunning to look at and even better to eat. The cream cheese frosting complimented it perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeeSweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I made this recipe for Easter and it was a huge hit. Since I'd never made a carrot cake before, I followed the recipe exactly. The only change I would make is to use a round pan or perhaps a Bundt pan, because the 9 x 13 just isn't pretty enough for this absolutely delicious cake. I will definitely make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Very moist and delicious! I added an additional (8ounce) can of crushed pineapple. I would even consider adding double of this as well to taste more of the pineapple next time. It is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCPHILLIPS
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This cake is no fail, and a grand slam. I omitted half of the coconut and replaced with apple juice soaked black raisins. I also put in a bit more pineapple, and added the pineapple juice to the frosting. And one final ingredient change - had no walnuts, so I used pecans. I baked it in my 10 x 14 clay baking pan, cut it in half, and stacked the layers with frosting in between (I made a double batch of frosting) Everyone raved and were amazed. So so so good. I'm making it this weekend for a wedding shower and have already told the guests to save room :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I made this cake last night for dessert for Easter dinner. Everyone said it was delicious, but three in particular said that this was the best carrot cake they've ever had! Now that is a statement you want to hear!I plan on keeping this one and making it again really soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
The cake is great but the frosting is too sweet. I'll put only half the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Excellent Recipe! Great for bake sales and potlucks....or anytime! I followed the recipe for the cake but changed the frosting. I do not like the sickening sweet typical cream cheese frosting, it over powers a good cake. I made it this way and had a lighter version of the frosting: 1 - 8oz cream cheese, 1/4 cup butter, creamed. Add 1/2 cup powdered sugar, 1 tsp vanilla. Cream. Add 2 Tbl. milk to make it creamy and light and up to another 1/2 cup powdered sugar to a desired consistancy and sweetness. To finish, I added 1 tsp. orange zest for a surprise element that is very complimentary!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This recipe is awesome! I was making this for Easter and was going to be celebrating with 2 families so I decided to make cupcakes instead. They turned out great! So moist and delicious! The only thing I changed (only because I didn't have the ingredients in the house) were I used Extra Virgin Olive Oil instead of vegetable oil and I used Sea Salt instead of regular salt. I will definitly save this recipe :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Excellent! I followed other suggestions subbing 1/2 applesauce & 1/2 oil and used 2 c. cake flour instead of AP. Baked 6 standard cupcakes for 25 mins and the remaining in a bundt pan for approx. 45 mins. Used the cream cheese frosting recipe provided and added just a pinch of Korintje cinnamon for added flavor. Since it was a bundt cake I sliced it in half, frosted the middle, replaced the top and applied another layer of frosting before topping it all off with crushed walnuts. The cake is very dense, moist and absolutely delicious. I made this as a test run for Easter dinner and it has definitely made the cut, no pun intended! Thank you for another great Holiday or anytime recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This is fabulous. I changed a few things but am certain it would be just as tasty as written. (a) 1 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup brown. (b) 1/3 cup appliesauce and 2/3 cup oil. (c) 3 cups shredded carrots. (d) 20 oz can pineapple drained well. (e) sprinkled chopped pecans on top after frosting, rather than putting nuts in the cake -- just because I forgot to put them in, but I think this is how I will do it from now on. (f) Baked in two round tins for a two layer cake rather than a 9 x 13. Reduced baking time by about 10 minutes (but do the toothpick test). This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States