Carrot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I made this dish with 1/2cup of sugar instead of 3/4 cup since I wanted to serve it as part of dinner. My 3 year old daughter is very picky, and I wanted to include carrots in her diet somehow. She abusolutely loved it. So did I and my husband. It still tasted like a dessert. I may make it with even less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I used this recipe as an alternative to pumpkin pie, to use up an enormous yield of garden carrots. My family loves it. With fresh carrots, it requires no added sugar. With older or store-bought carrots, you can add up to 1/2 cup sugar. Do not add the full 3/4 cup or it will be insanely sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
I used less sugar than required as well. Also, I used pumpkin pie spice (which has cinnamon in it). I really enjoyed it and I've made several with rave reviews. This recipe works really well for carrots that are "past their prime" and rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Excellent recipe, but it's missing a key ingredient. 1/2 tsp ground ginger. This was a desert staple in my house growing up. You can't beat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
This pie was ok. It wasn't really what I expected. It has sort of a pumpkin pie taste but with carrots and the blend of those two flavors don't really go well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I have to review this because it has become a family favorite! Both of my kids (5 & 7) love carrot pie, and they cheer when I make it! My family is grain-free and sugar-free, so I've made a few easy adjustments. First, instead of a crust, I just pour the filling into small ramekins and everyone gets their own special serving. Instead of sugar, I substitute 1/2 c. honey, and I use 1/2 c. almond milk instead of the milk. This is a wonderfully sweet treat and a great way to get the kids to eat their veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I made this for Xmas everbody seem to like this pie. It tastes like a cross between a pumpkin and carrots. Spice is like pumpkin/sweet potato there is a strong carrots flavor. You will take more of a carrots flavor unlike pumpkin/sweet potato which have a more harmonized flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by skmccormick
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Good recipe!! I will be using pumpkin pie spice the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skmccormick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Randle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Delicious. I made this mostly as the recipe calls for, but I followed others' advice about adding less sugar. I used only about 1/3 cup. I also made these into "mini pies", by putting the pastry dough into muffin cups and adding enough carrot filling into each until it almost reached the top of the pastry dough. After they were cooked, I let them cool, put them them into a metal tin and severed them cold 2 days later while on a camping trip - everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
well i just made this, i cut the recipe in half and baked it in a custard cup (no crust). I was slightly shy a cup of carrots and only used 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup milk, the vanilla was closer to a tsp and i added more cinnamon and i added nutmeg, will probably add some ginger or cloves. or pumpkin pie spice for easier baking. I mixed everything together and blended up in the blended. came out smoothe. I baked it for 10 mins at 400 and its cooked about 10-12 mins at 350. Its alot cheaper alternative to pumpkin pie. will definately make again. Thanks alot for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States