Carrot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I have to review this because it has become a family favorite! Both of my kids (5 & 7) love carrot pie, and they cheer when I make it! My family is grain-free and sugar-free, so I've made a few easy adjustments. First, instead of a crust, I just pour the filling into small ramekins and everyone gets their own special serving. Instead of sugar, I substitute 1/2 c. honey, and I use 1/2 c. almond milk instead of the milk. This is a wonderfully sweet treat and a great way to get the kids to eat their veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tulapearl
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I made this carrot pie last minute for Thanksgiving. It was a huge hit and many people wanted the recipe! Thanks for sharing :) I will post my photos soon. I made it with the easy buttery pie crust recipe that is also on here. This was an easy and fun pie. I made little carrots with the excess dough and put it on the middle of the pie as a decoration! A lot of fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tulapearl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Delicious! I like it best with the sugar cut by half and a couple handfuls of walnuts added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by skmccormick
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Good recipe!! I will be using pumpkin pie spice the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skmccormick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Randle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
YUMMY and so simple. it's all about making sure the carrots are steamed for about 10-15 minutes then you have a very smooth consistency when they are pureed. I added a little bit of pumpkin pie spice along with the other ingredients. YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I used up the rest of the carrots in my fridge, had no idea how many carrots I used but it was enough. It tasted a lot like pumpkin pie but there was a very distinct carrot flavor to it. Everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I used this recipe as an alternative to pumpkin pie, to use up an enormous yield of garden carrots. My family loves it. With fresh carrots, it requires no added sugar. With older or store-bought carrots, you can add up to 1/2 cup sugar. Do not add the full 3/4 cup or it will be insanely sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Excellent recipe, but it's missing a key ingredient. 1/2 tsp ground ginger. This was a desert staple in my house growing up. You can't beat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
I used less sugar than required as well. Also, I used pumpkin pie spice (which has cinnamon in it). I really enjoyed it and I've made several with rave reviews. This recipe works really well for carrots that are "past their prime" and rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I made this dish with 1/2cup of sugar instead of 3/4 cup since I wanted to serve it as part of dinner. My 3 year old daughter is very picky, and I wanted to include carrots in her diet somehow. She abusolutely loved it. So did I and my husband. It still tasted like a dessert. I may make it with even less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States