Carrot Pecan Crunch Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
The bomb. Did not put the topping on, still beats pumpkin pie, nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by christian1
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
the flavor was excellent, but the recipe lost a star for looks and texture. the filling does not look that appealing and is not smooth like pumpkin pie filling. it sure is good though. i didn't have pumpkin pie spice, so i used the spices mentioned in a previous review and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Very good, with or with out the nuts on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I really liked this pie. It tasted like a pumpkin or sweet potato pie. I used a graham cracker crust. The topping was just a little too sugary for my taste, so I will probably use a little less brown sugar next time. I will definitely be making this at Thanksgiving, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This pie has been a huge hit everywhere I take it! I've found that the topping is best if the pecans have been finely chopped, it melts evenly distributed on top and every piece has the same amount of crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This was YUMMY!!!!! So good!!! Definitely a keeper. Instead of pumpkin pie spice I added 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. each of nutmeg and giner, and 1/4 tsp. cloves. DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I followed this recipe as is, and think it has a lot of potential! The filling made was actually enough to fill 2 pre-made Pillsbury pie crusts. In the future I would definitely make my own crust, or maybe try it with graham cracker. For the filling itself, I would add a lot more spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, ground ginger). Overall a wonderful, unique recipe. Can't wait to try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
What a delightful pie! Everyone at our Thanksgiving Dinner party loved this pie. It tastes simular to pumpkin pie and if you don't tell anyone, they probably will think that it is pumpkin. However, I personally liked it much better than pumpkin pie and it is prettier because the color is richer. My 7 year old granddaughter thought it was "supper cool" that it was made from carrots and the pecans from our own back yard. I liked it even better the next day when it was cold from the refrigerator. But that may have only been because I was so full from our Thanksgiving meal to enjoy it fully on the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandma_beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
What a wonderfully simple and delicious pie - sweet but not candy-like. And so quick to make! My husband, who likes old-fashioned cooking, really enjoyed this one. We ate it warm, and then enjoyed it cold, too. I'll make it often. Maybe next time I'll try throwing a few raisins and pecans into the custard, as well. Thanks for submitting this recipe - it's definitely a "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieHansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States