Carrot Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
This recipe was great! I did some modification however. I shredded the carrots with a food processor and threw in 2 garlic cloves and 1 small onion. Then I added some hemp seed, some flax seed, and some oat bran along with the breadcrumbs and flour. I increased to 5 eggs because of the extra dry ingredients. Ate it like a burger w/ mayo, tahini, mustard, sliced cukes and sprouts. Yum! My 2 year old ate almost 2 patties for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I hesitate to give this a 5 star because I changed it so much... but what I did end up with was excellent. I didn't have even a half pound of shredded carrots so subbed in some potato. I shredded 1 large potato, then rinsed it in cold water, & squeezed out the excess water. Next I took about 3 cups of shredded carrots and put them in the microwave for 30 sec bursts three or four times (until they seemed to soften some... I wanted them to be done when the potatoes were done,) stirring between each burst. Then I mixed the potato and carrot together with seasonings (salt, garlic, onion powder, salt, a dash of cayenne and black pepper.) Added 1/3 cup barely cooked finely chopped onions (again I used the microwave) and a couple of tablespoons of flour mixing well. I molded them into patties as firmly as I could and fried them in an oiled pan over medium heat(I brushed my nonstick pan with oil.) Just before I turned the patties over I put about a 1/4 tsp of butter on top of each patty, which gave them excellent flavor and kept them from burning. (No eggs and no crumbs at all.) HINT: Like hashbrowns they stick together best if you wait until the bottom is somewhat crisp before you turn them, and don't keep turning them over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
As a vegetarian, I have these as a main dish over some saffron rice. A dash of curry powder gives it a nice kick, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I noticed some of the reviewers weren't too pleased with this and I paid attention to their reasons carefully because knowing my family and our tastes, something told me to try this recipe anyway. I am grateful I did. First off..."thanks for sharing this, Haggith!". I added some chopped leeks with ours because I had them leftover from another dinner. Next time I may add a stronger onion or maybe even caramelize the leeks first because the recipe "as is" could use a little lift. I'm sure onion soup mix could help if you can stand the salt. I still give this 5 stars because of the entire package; the idea, the use of carrots, how well it cooked, and because it was pleasing to look at (has potential to be even more colorful with different ingredients). However, I didn't like how messy it was to patty them (but who does?!?). These will be fun to play around with in the future. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
The taste was very good,but my patties kept falling apart in the frying pan!I scaled the recipe for two(me and hubby)and only added one egg as opposed to two.I also added more garlic for flavor and made a delicious dipping sauce of soy sauce and lime juice.I will try and make these again because the flavor is tasty..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
Really great flavors -- fresh and savory. I added freshly minced ginger. Next time I'll make an accomanying soy/ginger/garlic dipping sauce. After watching my vegetable-averse friends gobble these down, I knew I'd found a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I followed directions exactly and no one in my family liked them. Bland with a weird texture and tasted like eggs. Maybe they might be better if boiled, mashed and mixed with sugar and cinammon and then formed and fried...Sorry to those who did like them but I really wonder how it got 4 stars...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
A nice change from potato pancakes. Next time I will make more since they were such a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Grivner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oreland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
With whole wheat flour and pam spray, this makes a pretty healthy snack. Some chilli sauce on this, and it's pretty yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
THANK YOU HAGGITH! I am a carrot freak and am always looking for simple, flavorful carrot recipes. Boy do I love these! I prepared them basically as written (used whole wheat bread crumbs and a GIGANTIC clove of garlic - about the size of 3 average cloves). I saw that I was out of regular vegetable oil so I used my olive oil. YUM! I think frying in olive oil and using the giant garlic clove were the two keys to success here. I served topped with plain yogurt and walnuts. Those of you who thought they were bland and added all kinds of spices, and gooped them up with chili sauce and soy sauce and who-knows-what should try frying them in olive oil and letting the delicious flavor of these patties through! I am also confused about why some thought they fell apart. I had no trouble with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sreengleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States