Carrot Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Didn't do the cream cheese addition, sub'd half oil out for Apple sauce an slightly cut back on sugar. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZINOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I loved this recipe, as is, but to make it even better I substituted for the white flour, a cup of almonds crushed in a blender. I added more cinnamon, some powder cloves, nutmeg and fresh grated ginger. I skipped the oil but cored and blended two apples and one cup of greek yogurt. Instead of the sugar I added a cup of diced dates and a cup of chocolate chips. I skipped the pineapple and cream cheese, although fresh pineapple would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Kyser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
These muffins are delicious, the recipe adapts well to what's on hand, or taste preferences. I immediately soaked the oatmeal in pineapple juice and buttermilk (i used vinger in my skim milk for the buttermilk). I did not use any white sugar and only used a half cup brown sugar. For the oil i used half cup unsalted butter, 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce and a 1/4 cup greek vanilla yogurt. I added nutmeg, cloves and ginger along with the cinnamon which i increased. I shedded an extra carrot increasing to 2 1/2 cups carrots and used a granny smith apple as well (about 1 cup) , i added dried cranberries and walnut plus a 1/4 cup flax seed. The muffins came out light just right sweetness with a great punch of healthy benefits. They have stayed nice and moist for 3 days now, i did notice that the muffins did not rise high but the mini loaves had a better rise to them. Lastly i froze several loaves for future meals, breakfast on the go. Thanks for a great base recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gemma Morales
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This recipe is great, my hubby loved the muffins asking for more, Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gemma Morales

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This recipe was great! The muffins were very moist. I will try substituting whole wheat flour for white flour next time. Also, I plan to add nuts to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violinlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Great recipe! Very moist muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Didi
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Followed the advice of others and replaced 2/3 a cup of oil with applesauce. Didn't have pineapple or cream cheese, but the muffins were very tasty without. Probably won't worry about it next time either. My muffins rose very nicely. Definitely using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I forgot to add the white sugar... But they still tasted pretty sweet, probably because of then pineapple. I did not have coconut, and did not bother with the cream cheese filling. It made about 16 large muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I worked with the ingredients I had on hand and made a couple of adjustments and will provde recommendations as well. I made slight modifications to ingredients: 2 cups of whole wheat flour, 2 1/2 cups of shredded carrots (pulp from juice extractor), 1 cup applesauce, 1/4 cup veg oil, soaked raisins in warm water for about 10 minutes before adding them to mixture, reduced white sugar to 1/2 cup, 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder, 3 tablespoon cinnamon, and 3 tablespoon vanilla extract. I followed directions with the filling but was a bit dissapointed. I would highly recommend adding 3/4-1 cup cream cheese mixture and perhaps avoid the pineapple juice and do what others recommended which is adding cubes of cream cheese. I would also recommend going Generous with all fruit cause I think more would have been better fit to my husband and I liking. 1/2 cup more perhaps. Overall it is a wonderfully delicious recipe! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celia S Chavez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Added zucchini - moist and delicious - requests from family for more !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States