Carrot Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Didi
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Followed the advice of others and replaced 2/3 a cup of oil with applesauce. Didn't have pineapple or cream cheese, but the muffins were very tasty without. Probably won't worry about it next time either. My muffins rose very nicely. Definitely using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I forgot to add the white sugar... But they still tasted pretty sweet, probably because of then pineapple. I did not have coconut, and did not bother with the cream cheese filling. It made about 16 large muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I worked with the ingredients I had on hand and made a couple of adjustments and will provde recommendations as well. I made slight modifications to ingredients: 2 cups of whole wheat flour, 2 1/2 cups of shredded carrots (pulp from juice extractor), 1 cup applesauce, 1/4 cup veg oil, soaked raisins in warm water for about 10 minutes before adding them to mixture, reduced white sugar to 1/2 cup, 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder, 3 tablespoon cinnamon, and 3 tablespoon vanilla extract. I followed directions with the filling but was a bit dissapointed. I would highly recommend adding 3/4-1 cup cream cheese mixture and perhaps avoid the pineapple juice and do what others recommended which is adding cubes of cream cheese. I would also recommend going Generous with all fruit cause I think more would have been better fit to my husband and I liking. 1/2 cup more perhaps. Overall it is a wonderfully delicious recipe! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celia S Chavez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Added zucchini - moist and delicious - requests from family for more !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Yummy, I doubled the recipe and omitted the rasins, creamcheese, coconut and pineapple... no need to add those this muffin will stand on its own without all those. I did add in 3/4 cup of milk to bring the batter to a moist muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Lovely muffins. Cream cheese filling was ok but I would probably like the cream cheese as frosting just as well. Will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
It's good but TOO SWEET. And the texture is VERY MOIST. Sweetness already exists via coconut flakes and pineapple, didn't use more than 1/4 cup of sugar total. I substituted ALL of the oil for apple sauce to decrease fat. I made half the batch in cupcake liners and half in single tart trays, and the ones in the foil tart trays rose quite a bit compared to in the paper. That seems to alleviate the concerns here about the batter not rising. The paper liners were the worst. The muffins don't really peel off at all. On the other-hand, the foil tart tins leave very little crumb and the muffins pop right out. no need for spray or any added grease. The tins are reusable-Just soak to clean. The cream cheese filling ratio is not listed and mine came out very watery so it marbled, and did not stay in the middle as solid filling. With this part, start with the Cream Cheese first and add pineapple juice a teaspoon at a time until you get the right tartness and texture. It should still be more on the thick cream side, instead of being so watery. Roughly 1/4 cup cream cheese with about 1-2 tbsp of juice. Not too much or it will get watery. For those of you like me who don't have a food processor for carrots, I just used a regular veggie peeler to process the carrots manually. It took a bit of time but it's faster than using a knife, and i got nice thin onionskin-slice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This was my first effort ever at making muffins from scratch, and they turned out GREAT! The changes I made were: for 1 cup oil I subbed 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt, 1/4 cup milk, 1/4 cup olive oil. I didn't have coconut, cream cheese or pineapple so didn't do those. I used golden raisins. I used about the called for amount of sugar, since I wasn't using the pineapple. Added extra cinnamon and some pumpkin pie spice. I love how flexible this recipe is!! They turned out moist, came out of the muffin forms SO easily, were the perfect sweetness. They were a huge hit, and went quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Changes I made: Pureed fresh pineapple with as much juice strained instead of canned pineapple, used coconut sugar instead of white sugar, used 3/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup of avocado oil instead of canola oil, nixed the coconut & raisins and added 1/2 cup of pumpkin seeds and upped the oats to 1 full cup, and didn't do the cream cheese middle/topping. THEY'RE DELICIOUS. Next time will probably increase raw pumpkin seeds to a full cup. Or add in sunflower seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pchesmalone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States