Carrot Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
We loved this recipe. Very moist and delicious. I did not have wheat flour so I used all-purpose instead. I also cut back the sugar a bit and did not do the filling...and they turned out great. I have already made them twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIGOHANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
I left out the cream cheese filling and halved the sugar. If I were to make them for guests, though, I would probably only cut the sugar by 1/4. My only complaint is that these were a little greasy, so next time I will cut back on the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
What a great recipe! I cut both sugars to a 1/2 cup each, substituted 3/4 cup apple sauce + 1/4 cup oil for the 1 cup oil recommended. They aren't oily at all this way! I have doubled and quadrupled the recipe so I could put a couple dozen muffins in the freezer before and since my son was born. They freeze great! The muffins I've kept out have been moist and delicious. Everyone asks for this recipe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CABERNET99
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This is one of the best muffin recipes that I have tried. The wonderful smell during the baking time was extraordinary. I added nutmeg and cloves along with the cinnamon. Also I whipped the cream cheese and pineapple juice, instead of lightly mixing... created a softer center that almost swirled though the middle of the muffin. But I think it would be good either way, with a firmer center or with a fluffy center. Think I might try shredded zucchini instead of carrots next time. Can see that you could vary this recipe dozens of different ways. The canola oil does give it a slicker texture; might alter that next time and use butter. But still very good. Will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
By far one of the best muffin recipes I have come across. Everyone I feed these to, including myself LOVE them! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
These are so great. I left out the cream cheese middle, and use applesauce in place of oil. I make them in jumbo muffin cups, so they make a real (ie. big) mid-morning snack for my boyfriend. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Ohh Soo Good! I even cut back some of the juice that went in the cream cheese mixture to keep it thick, and put even bigger globs in the center of the muffins - and it stayed as a creamy cheese center! They didn't even last a day between my husband and I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
These were very good. I even added 1/2 c. of chocolate chips to offset all those fruits and veggies. Have to have something chocolate in there :) They are maybe a little greasy, so I'll do the 1/2 applesauce next time. Skipped the cream cheese. Very yummy. Will make again. Wish they would dome up a bit more as they are flat tops. Make sure you grease the top part of the muffin tin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
These were wonderful. I used other reviewers' suggestions, and reduced both sugars and used applesauce instead of oil and they were superb. Also omitted the cream cheese center but might try it sometime. The 2nd time I made these, I forgot I didn't have any pineapple and just added more carrots, raisins, and coconut. I keep getting asked for the recipe! And, my Dad (who NEVER likes "sweets" like this) wanted these as his 60th birthday treat. What a wonderful compliment! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayDubya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Not as big as I was hoping for but the taste and how moist it was made up for its size- definitely will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States